Espargaro sets the FP2 pace at San Marino

Pol Espargaro set the fastest time in the second free practice session for Sunday's San Marino Grand Prix, edging out Honda's Dani Pedrosa.

Tech3 Yamaha rider, Espargaro, finished second in the morning's first practice, as Valentino Rossi led the way, but he went one better in the afternoon session at Misano.

Yamaha's Jorge Lorenzo had been the quickest for the majority of the session before being overtaken by Spain's Espargaro, while Andrea Dovizioso jumped up into third place.

Current championship leader Marc Marquez could only manage fifth fastest, while Rossi was down in sixth spot.

LCR Honda's Cal Crutchlow was seventh fastest after suffering a crash at Turn 14, while Scott Redding, Hector Barbera and Maverick Vinales rounded out the top 10.

Last weekend's winner at Silverstone, Vinales, seemed to struggle in the warmer afternoon conditions and could not compete at the top end in his Suzuki.

FP2 Misano times:
1. Pol Espargaro – Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 1m 32.769s
2. Dani Pedrosa – Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 1m 32.834s 0.065s
3. Andrea Dovizioso – Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP) 1m 32.901s 0.132s
4. Jorge Lorenzo – Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 1m 33.056s 0.287s
5. Marc Marquez – Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 1m 33.196s 0.427s
6. Valentino Rossi – Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 1m 33.387s 0.618s
7. Cal Crutchlow – LCR Honda (RC213V) 1m 33.500s 0.731s
8. Scott Redding – Octo Pramac Yakhnich (Desmosedici GP15) 1m 33.552s 0.783s
9. Hector Barbera – Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP14.2) 1m 33.581s 0.812s
10. Maverick Viñales – Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 33.629s 0.860s
11. Aleix Espargaro – Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 33.643s 0.874s
12. Danilo Petrucci – Octo Pramac Yakhnich (Desmosedici GP15) 1m 33.803s 1.034s
13. Alvaro Bautista – Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 33.846s 1.077s
14. Michele Pirro – Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP) 1m 33.885s 1.116s
15. Alex Lowes – Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 1m 34.154s 1.385s
16. Eugene Laverty – Aspar MotoGP Team (Desmosedici GP14.2) 1m 34.457s 1.688s
17. Stefan Bradl – Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 34.631s 1.862s
18. Yonny Hernandez – Aspar MotoGP Team (Desmosedici GP14.2) 1m 34.719s 1.950s
19. Tito Rabat – Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 1m 34.725s 1.956s
20. Jack Miller – Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 1m 35.062s 2.293s
21. Javier Fores – Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP14.2) 1m 36.046s 3.277s
0. Andrea Iannone – Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP) No Time