Davies holds off Rea’s title charge

As with Race 1, Tom Sykes once again made a brilliant start only to be bumped by Max Biaggi. It was Sylvain Guintoli who triggered the incident as he tried to take a gap up the inside of the Roman Emperor.

While Biaggi went down, Sykes dropped to P14 which was a welcome boost for Jonathan Rea and his Championship chances.

Rea immediately made his way to the front, sliding into second place behind Chaz Davies as the duo pulled away from the chasing pack.

Trying to make up ground, Sykes' challenge came undon on lap five when he went down at Turn 9 pushing too hard. He rejoined down in 19th place.

Midway through the 16-lap race, Davies held a 2.4s advantage over Rea who was being caught by the Aprilia of Jordi Torres.

The Aruba.it Racing Ducati rider extended his advantage over the next four laps before his pace began to drop off slightly and Rea matched his lap times.

Although this sparked some concerns at Aruba.it, Davies did not suffer the same fate as Sykes had in Race 1. Lapping in the 2:06s, he was only marginally slower than Rea lap after lap.

However, that changed on the penultimate lap when Davies dropped to a 2:07 and Rea upped his pace to a 2:05. The gap was cut to 1.2s.

Closing ever closer on the final lap, it was down to half a second by Turn 9 and corners later Rea was right there. With three corners to go he was on Davies' rear wheel and made his move. The duo touched but Davies held on for a straight race to the line.

It was Davies who took it by 0.091s ahead of Rea!

Jordi Torres completed the podium in third place, crossing the line ahead of Sylvain Guintoli, Michael van der Mark – P5 was a good result for the PATA Honda rider who failed to finish Race 1 due to an electrical problem – and Leon Haslam.

David Salom, Alex Lowes, Matteo Baiocco and Roman Ramos completed the top ten.

1 DAVIES Chaz Ducati Panigale R
2 REA Jonathan Kawasaki ZX-10R 0.091
3 TORRES Jordi Aprilia RSV4 RF 5.008
4 GUINTOLI Sylvain Honda CBR1000RR SP 13.130
5 VD MARK Michael Honda CBR1000RR SP 15.801
6 HASLAM Leon Aprilia RSV4 RF 15.970
7 SALOM David Kawasaki ZX-10R 24.561
8 LOWES Alex Suzuki GSX-R1000 26.526
9 BAIOCCO Matteo Ducati Panigale R 28.528
10 RAMOS Román Kawasaki ZX-10R 31.598
11 CANEPA Niccolò Ducati Panigale R 33.568
12 CAMIER Leon     MV Agusta F4 RR 34.806
13 DE PUNIET Randy Suzuki GSX-R1000 46.521
14 SYKES Tom Kawasaki ZX-10R 48.964
15 MERCADO Leandro Ducati Panigale R 49.865
16 PONSSON Christophe Kawasaki ZX-10R 64.171
17 VIZZIELLO Gianluca Kawasaki ZX-10R 84.837
18 RIZMAYER Gábor BMW S1000 RR 85.068
19 PHILLIS Alex Kawasaki ZX-10R 94.051
20 TOTH Imre BMW S1000 RR 120.907
RT BIAGGI Max Aprilia RSV4 RF 15 laps