Iannone completes Assen free practice double

Ducati's Andrea Iannone picked up where he left off in FP1 by topping the timesheets in the second practice session at Assen on Friday.

With the rain staying away this time, Iannone set the fastest lap time of 1m35.591s on his Desmosedici GP16, just 0.004s clear of Movistar Yamaha's Valentino Rossi in second.

Unfortunately for Iannone, a penalty incurred as a result of his collision with Jorge Lorenzo in Catalunya means he will have to start from the rear of the grid in Sunday's Dutch TT.

Rossi, meanwhile, continues to show impressive pace  on the YZR-M1, which bodes well for his prospects of closing the gap on Marc Marquez and Lorenzo in the title race.

Down in 11th for much of the session, a late burst saw him pass all but Iannone in the timesheets.

Victory on Sunday would mark his second on the trot, and his second successive win at Assen.

Repsol Honda's Marquez was third in the session with a 1m 33.724s, much improved from his 11th place in FP1.

Suzuki's Maverick Vinales took fourth with a 1m 33.892s, while reigning champion Lorenzo was fifth in the other Yamaha, four tenths down on Iannone and Rossi. 

Andrea Dovizioso and Danilo Petrucci were sixth and seventh respectively, with Aleix Espargaro rounding out the top eight.


1 Andrea Iannone Ducati 1m33.591s
2 Valentino Rossi Yamaha 1m33.595s 0.004s
3 Marc Marquez Honda 1m33.724s 0.133s
4 Maverick Vinales Suzuki 1m33.892s 0.301s
5 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha 1m33.991s 0.400s
6 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati 1m34.011s 0.420s
7 Danilo Petrucci Pramac Ducati 1m34.065s 0.474s
8 Aleix Espargaro Suzuki 1m34.087s 0.496s
9 Pol Espargaro Tech3 Yamaha 1m34.163s 0.572s
10 Scott Redding Pramac Ducati 1m34.172s 0.581s
11 Dani Pedrosa Honda 1m34.206s 0.615s
12 Hector Barbera Avintia Ducati 1m34.404s 0.813s
13 Cal Crutchlow LCR Honda 1m34.480s 0.889s
14 Bradley Smith Tech3 Yamaha 1m34.531s 0.940s
15 Eugene Laverty Aspar Ducati 1m34.789s 1.198s
16 Jack Miller Marc VDS Honda 1m35.008s 1.417s
17 Stefan Bradl Aprilia 1m35.056s 1.465s
18 Yonny Hernandez Aspar Ducati 1m35.125s 1.534s
19 Michele Pirro Avintia Ducati 1m35.220s 1.629s
20 Alvaro Bautista Aprilia 1m35.284s 1.693s
21 Tito Rabat Marc VDS Honda 1m36.582s 2.991s