Iannone leads Ducati one-two

 Ducati rider Andrea Iannone set the fastest time in the first free practice session of the Dutch MotoGP on a cloudy yet warm day in the Netherlands.

At the historic Assen venue, the Ducati machinery showed some serious pace as Iannone's best time was only 0.226s faster than that of his team-mate Andrea Dovizioso in second.

Considering Pramac Ducati's Scott Redding was in fourth and Danilo Petrucci fifth, the Ducatis are likely to be a handful to deal with come Sunday.

Nevertheless, irrespective of how fast Iannone is during practice and qualifying, he will start Sunday's race in last place as part of his punishment for his crash with Jorge Lorenzo in Barcelona. 

While Ducati shone in FP1, the Honda's struggled for the most part, with Marc Marquez the best of the lot in 11th, followed by Cal Crutchlow (12th) and Dani Pedrosa (13th).

The best non-Ducati rider of the day was Pol Espargaro in third, some 0.3s behind Iannone, while fellow Yamaha riders Lorenzo (sixth) and Valentino Rossi (seventh) the best of the chasing pack.

Maverick Viñales had the first use of Suzuki's new chassis and finished 0.410s off the lead with Bradley Smith ninth and Hector Barbera rounding out the top 10.

 Final classicifation:

1. Andrea Iannone ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP) 1m 34.349s [Lap 17/18] 309km/h (Top Speed)
2. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP) 1m 34.575s +0.226s [16/17] 308km/h
3. Pol Espargaro ESP Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 1m 34.649s 0.300s [18/19] 304km/h
4. Scott Redding GBR Octo Pramac Yakhnich (Desmosedici GP15) 1m 34.660s 0.311s [17/18] 304km/h
5. Danilo Petrucci ITA Octo Pramac Yakhnich (Desmosedici GP15) 1m 34.660s 0.311s [18/20] 301km/h
6. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 1m 34.722s 0.373s [11/18] 303km/h
7. Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 1m 34.758s 0.409s [21/21] 300km/h
8. Maverick Viñales ESP Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 34.759s 0.410s [19/20] 304km/h
9. Bradley Smith GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 1m 34.918s 0.569s [19/19] 301km/h
10. Hector Barbera ESP Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP14.2) 1m 34.954s 0.605s [16/18] 305km/h
11. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 1m 34.972s 0.623s [13/18] 302km/h
12. Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 1m 35.026s 0.677s [16/18] 302km/h
13. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 1m 35.294s 0.945s [17/18] 304km/h
14. Aleix Espargaro ESP Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 35.365s 1.016s [18/18] 300km/h
15. Michele Pirro ITA Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP14.2) 1m 35.530s 1.181s [17/17] 301km/h
16. Yonny Hernandez COL Aspar MotoGP Team (Desmosedici GP14.2) 1m 35.672s 1.323s [16/20] 296km/h
17. Eugene Laverty IRL Aspar MotoGP Team (Desmosedici GP14.2) 1m 35.989s 1.640s [18/19] 302km/h
18. Jack Miller AUS Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 1m 36.019s 1.670s [12/17] 300km/h
19. Alvaro Bautista ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 36.188s 1.839s [6/19] 296km/h
20. Stefan Bradl GER Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 36.284s 1.935s [16/16] 299km/h
21. Tito Rabat ESP Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 1m 37.850s 3.501s [21/21] 297km/h