Rookie Savadori on top in Malaysia

Lorenzo Salvadori was the unlikely rider at the top of the standings after the opening two free practice sessions for the Malaysian leg of the 2016 Superbike World Championship.

The Italian – who is in his debut season – put in a superb last gasp effort to pip Nicky Hayden. In the end, he put over two tenths of a second between himself and the Honda rider.

Another rider in his rookie season who impressed was Markus Reiterberger, who was third fastest on his BMW. The German edged Alex Lowes by just over 0.03 seconds at the Sepang International Circuit.

Riders’ championship leader Jonathan Rea, who was second fastest in the morning, just scraped through Superpole 2, earning tenth place, one ahead of his Kawasaki teammate Tom Sykes.


1. Lorenzo Savadori    ITA    IodaRacing Team    RSV4    2m 3.951s
2. Nicky Hayden    USA    Honda World Superbike Team    CBR1000RR    2m 4.167s
3. Markus Reiterberger    GER    Althea BMW Racing Team    S1000RR    2m 4.239s
4. Alex Lowes    GBR    Pata Yamaha Official WorldSBK Team    YZF R1    2m 4.262s
5. Davide Giugliano    ITA Racing – Ducati    1199R    2m 4.295s
6. Jordi Torres    ESP    Althea BMW Racing Team    S1000RR    2m 4.312s
7. Michael Van Der Mark    NED    Honda World Superbike Team    CBR1000RR    2m 4.385s
8. Chaz Davies    GBR Racing – Ducati    1199R    2m 4.478s
9. Anthony West    AUS    Pedercini Racing    ZX-10R    2m 4.743s
10. Jonathan Rea    GBR    Kawasaki Racing Team    ZX-10R    2m 4.747s
11. Tom Sykes    GBR    Kawasaki Racing Team    ZX-10R    2m 4.748s
12. Alex De Angelis    RSM    IodaRacing Team    RSV4    2m 5.153s
13. Luca Scassa    ITA    VFT Racing    1199R    2m 5.529s
14. Xavi Forés    ESP    Barni Racing Team    1199R    2m 5.625s
15. Karel Abraham    CZE    Milwaukee BMW    S1000RR    2m 5.889s
16. Leon Camier    GBR    MV Agusta Reparto Corse    1000 F4    2m 5.932s
17. Joshua Brookes    AUS    Milwaukee BMW    S1000RR    2m 6.945s
18. Josh Hook    AUS    Grillini Racing Team    ZX-10R    2m 7.389s
19. Gianluca Vizziello    ITA    Team GoEleven    ZX-10R    2m 8.045s
20. Dominic Schmitter    SUI    Grillini Racing Team    ZX-10R    2m 8.861s
21. Pawel Szkopek    POL    Team Tóth    YZF R1    2m 9.765s