Lorenzo storms to unchallenged Le Mans win

Jorge Lorenzo grabbed the lead in the riders’ standings with an emphatic win at the Le Mans MotoGP, a race in which Marc Marquez crashed while running P4.

Lorenzo made a perfect start to the 28-lap Le Mans MotoGP as he used his pole position to grab the holeshot ahead of the Ducatis of Andrea Dovizioso and Andrea Iannone.

It set up an unchallenged victory for the Yamaha rider, who was in a class of his own.

He controlled the pace throughout the grand prix and raced from lights to flag to secure his fifth win in the premier class at the French circuit.

With Dovizioso unable to make any inroads into Lorenzo’s lead – and Marquez closing in after a poor start in which he lost positions off the line – his team-mate Iannone attacked him for second.

His run in P2, though, was short-lived as he crashed at Turn 8 on lap 6 as the front end of his Ducati washed away. Minutes later Cal Crutchlow went down at Turn 11. Tito Rabat hit the gravel a lap later at Turn 8 while Yonny Hernandez lost it at Turn 4.

With his team-mate out of the running the battle for the podium was between Dovizioso, Marquez and the ever-closing Valentino Rossi. The trio were racing wheel-to-wheel midway through the race with Rossi passing Marquez at Garage Vert and then taking Dovizioso at Museum on the very next lap.

Rossi was given a free run to second as Dovizioso and Marquez went down in tandem at Turn 7 on lap 16. The duo did not clash and in fact Marquez, trial Dovizioso, went down a split second before the Italian.

The result meant Lorenzo took the lead in the championship with 90 points while Marquez, who recovered to finish P13, dropped to second. He trails the Yamaha rider by 5 points. Rossi is 12 points off the pace.

With chaos in front of him, Suzuki’s Maverick Vinales raced to his first podium finish in the MotoGP class ahead of Dani Pedrosa and Espargaro brothers. Pol beat Aleix on the day.

It was a great result for Danilo Petrucci as the Octo Pramac rider, returning from an injury lay-off, finished P7 ahead of Hector Barbera and Alvaro Bautista.

Stefan Bradl was P10 on a day where only 13 riders completed the race.

Bradley Smith and Jack Miller also crashed out while Scott Redding retired early in the race with a technical issue.

1 Jorge LORENZO Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 43’51.290
2 Valentino ROSSI Movistar Yamaha MotoGP +10.654
3 Maverick VIÑALES Team SUZUKI ECSTAR 14.177
4 Dani PEDROSA Repsol Honda Team 18.719
5 Pol ESPARGARO Monster Yamaha Tech 3 24.931
7 Danilo PETRUCCI OCTO Pramac Yakhnich 38.251
8 Hector BARBERA Avintia Racing    Ducati 38.504
9 Alvaro BAUTISTA Aprilia Racing Team Gresini 48.536
10 Stefan BRADL Aprilia Racing Team Gresini 54.502
11 Eugene LAVERTY Aspar Team MotoGP 1’02.677
12 Loris BAZ Avintia Racing 1’07.658
13 Marc MARQUEZ Repsol Honda Team 1 Lap
Not Classified
Bradley SMITH Monster Yamaha Tech 3 9 Laps
Jack MILLER Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS 11 Laps
Andrea DOVIZIOSO Ducati Team 13 Laps
Andrea IANNONE Ducati Team 17 Laps
Tito RABAT Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS 21 Laps
Cal CRUTCHLOW LCR Honda Honda 22 Laps
Yonny HERNANDEZ Aspar Team MotoGP 22 Laps
Scott REDDING OCTO Pramac Yakhnich 23 Laps