Second practice belongs to Lorenzo

MotoGP world champion Jorge Lorenzo dominated the second practice session at Le Mans as he lead from start to finish.

Having been narrowly beaten to top spot by Dani Pedrosa on Friday morning, Lorenzo seemed intent on being ultra aggressive as he set the early afternoon pace with a 1m34.065s.

Subsequent laps lowered the benchmark to 1m33.781s and then 1m33.572s during his first run, then a 1m33.299s lap put him 0.355 seconds clear of the other riders. Lorenzo was fearless as he pushed himself and his bike to the limits throughout.

The Spaniard became the first rider to break the 1m33s barrier for the weekend with a time of 1m32.830s.

Honda's Marc Marquez closed the gap to 0.483s, before Andrea Iannone climbed into second place on his Ducati after the chequered flag.

Iannone finished Friday 0.339s behind Lorenzo, with Pol Espargaro fourth behind Marquez and Andrea Dovizioso fifth.

Suzuki pair Aleix Espargaro and Maverick Vinales were sixth and seventh, ahead of Pedrosa, Hector Barbera and Valentino Rossi, who was 1.144s off team-mate Lorenzo's pace.

Danilo Petrucci was 11th fastest, which is a step in the right direction for him as he continues his return from injury, ahead of Cal Crutchlow and Scott Redding. The Brits fell in the afternoon at the final corner and Turn 7 respectively.

The conditions in the afternoon on Friday were close to perfect and the riders revelled as they sped around the circuit. It is unlikely that the intensity of the weekend will continue at that pace if the weather worsens.


1.Jorge Lorenzo  Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 1m 32.830s
2.Andrea Iannone Ducati Team 1m 33.169s
3.Marc Marquez Repsol Honda Team 1m 33.313s
4.Pol Espargaro Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1m 33.406s 0.576s
5.Andrea Dovizioso Ducati Team 1m 33.574s 0.744s    
6.Aleix Espargaro Team Suzuki Ecstar 1m 33.595s 0.765s    
7.Maverick Viñales Team Suzuki Ecstar 1m 33.613s 0.783s    
8.Dani Pedrosa Repsol Honda Team 1m 33.748s 0.918s    
9.Hector Barbera Avintia Racing 1m 33.951s 1.121s    
10.Valentino Rossi Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 1m 33.974s 1.144s    
11.Danilo Petrucci Octo Pramac Yakhnich 1m 34.050s 1.220s    
12.Cal Crutchlow LCR Honda 1m 34.053s 1.223s    
13.Scott Redding Octo Pramac Yakhnich 1m 34.083s 1.253s    
14.Bradley Smith Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1m 34.306s 1.476s    
15.Loris Baz Avintia Racing 1m 34.364s 1.534s    
16.Eugene Laverty Aspar MotoGP Team 1m 34.425s 1.595s    
17.Yonny Hernandez Aspar MotoGP Team 1m 34.531s 1.701s    
18.Jack Miller Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS 1m 34.656s 1.826s    
19.Stefan Bradl Factory Aprilia Gresini 1m 34.742s 1.912s
20.Tito Rabat Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS 1m 34.789s 1.959s    
21.Alvaro Bautista Factory Aprilia Gresini 1m 35.089s 2.259s