Marquez destroys lap record to claim pole

Marc Marquez claimed pole position for Sunday’s Aragon Moto GP in Spain despite falling at the end of the session.

The Spaniard beat the Motorland Aragon circuit record by half a second as he stormed to the front of the grid with a time of 1'46.635.

Marquez had also been fastest in the third free practice and finished third in the final free practice session, behind first-placed Repsol Honda teammate Dani Pedrosa and Movistar Yahmaha’s Jorge Lorenzo.

Lorenzo will line up in second place after his fastest time of  1'46.743 was just over a tenth of a second slower than his compatriot’s, while Ducati’s Andrea Iannone will take the third spot after posting a time of 1'47.178.

Aragon MotoGP Qualifying 2:

1. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 1m 46.635s [Lap 2/7] 338km/h (Top Speed)
2. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 1m 46.743s 0.108s [5/8] 336km/h
3. Andrea Iannone ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP15) 1m 47.178s 0.543s [6/6] 344km/h
4. Pol Espargaro ESP Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 1m 47.334s 0.699s [6/7] 333km/h
5. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 1m 47.357s 0.722s [6/8] 340km/h
6. Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 1m 47.492s 0.857s [7/7] 333km/h
7. Aleix Espargaro ESP Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 47.573s 0.938s [6/7] 328km/h
8. Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 1m 47.574s 0.939s [6/6] 336km/h
9. Danilo Petrucci ITA Octo Pramac Racing (Desmosedici GP14.2) 1m 47.775s 1.140s [6/6] 337km/h
10. Bradley Smith GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 1m 47.830s 1.195s [7/8] 337km/h
11. Yonny Hernandez COL Octo Pramac Racing (Desmosedici GP14.2) 1m 48.556s 1.921s [5/6] 337km/h
12. Maverick Viñales ESP Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)* 1m 48.648s 2.013s [2/7] 329km/h

Aragon MotoGP Qualifying 1:

13. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP15) 1m 48.294s 340km/h
14. Scott Redding GBR Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 1m 48.674s 329km/h
15. Eugene Laverty IRL Aspar MotoGP Team (RC213V-RS)* 1m 49.035s 327km/h
16. Nicky Hayden USA Aspar MotoGP Team (RC213V-RS) 1m 49.102s 325km/h
17. Stefan Bradl GER Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 49.109s 325km/h
18. Mike Di Meglio FRA Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP14 Open) 1m 49.253s 334km/h
19. Hector Barbera ESP Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP14 Open) 1m 49.426s 336km/h
20. Jack Miller AUS LCR Honda (RC213V-RS)* 1m 49.436s 328km/h
21. Alvaro Bautista ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 49.437s 327km/h
22. Loris Baz FRA Forward Racing (Forward Yamaha)* 1m 49.496s 321km/h
23. Karel Abraham CZE AB Motoracing (RC213V-RS) 1m 49.761s 324km/h
24. Alex De Angelis RSM E-Motion IodaRacing (ART) 1m 50.134s 323km/h
25. Toni Elias SPA Forward Racing (Forward Yamaha) 1m 50.755s 327km/h