Long Beach ePrix pole for Da Costa

Antonio Felix da Costa grabbed pole position for the Long Beach ePrix after bossing the day’s Super Pole session.

The Portuguese Team Aguri driver was faultless as he recorded a lap time of 57.198s, 0.063s quicker than Sam Bird.

“I’m pleased with that, we had a lot of bad luck in the last few races and lost podiums,” said Da Costa. “Very happy with that pole position and now we have to do it in the race. I think we have better race pace than qualy.”

Bird was quickest in qualifying but couldn’t repeat the feat in the Super Pole shootout.

“It was rubbish, I ran out of talent going to Turn 1!” he grumbled. “We clawed it back a little bit over the rest of the lap, but I really let that one go.”

Starting in third place for Abt Audi is Lucas di Grassi, who admitted afterwards he had made a slight error during his lap.

“The lap wasn’t perfect, it’s about risk and return. I did a small mistake,” he explained.

Venturi’s Stephane Sarrazin lies in fourth, followed by Mahindra’s Nick Heidfeld, who clipped the wall at the hairpin at the start and end of his lap.

“I just got more oversteer and rear locking,” he said.

Overall points leader Sebastian Buemi will be most disappointed, as he had to settle for eighth place.

“I didn’t attack the braking at the first corner as I should have done. The grip didn’t feel as good as this morning,” said the Renault e.dams driver. “Not very good.”

Buemi’s team-mate Nicolas Prost did not fare any better, qualifying in ninth.


1 Antonio Felix da Costa Aguri 57.198s –
2 Sam Bird Virgin 57.261s 0.063s
3 Lucas di Grassi Abt 57.270s 0.072s
4 Stephane Sarrazin Venturi 57.412s 0.214s
5 Nick Heidfeld Mahindra 57.825s 0.627s
6 Robin Frijns Andretti 57.145s    –
7 Daniel Abt Abt 57.151s –
8 Sebastien Buemi e.dams Renault 57.189s –
9 Nicolas Prost e.dams Renault 57.284s –
10 Jerome d’Ambrosio Dragon Venturi 57.288s –
11 Bruno Senna Mahindra 57.383s –
12 Jean-Eric Vergne Virgin 57.496s –
13 Simona de Silvestro Andretti 57.696s    –
14 Oliver Turvey China 57.952s –
15 Nelson Piquet Jr. China 58.015s –
16 Mike Conway Venturi 58.144s    –
17 Salvador Duran Aguri 58.417s    –
18 Loic Duval Dragon Venturi 9.049s –