Rosberg receives long-awaited silverware

In 2014, Formula 1 introduced a short-lived battle for the most pole positions in a season. The idea was likely a Bernie Ecclestone special.

Lewis Hamilton beat Nico Rosberg to the World Championship in 2014, but the German racked up the most pole positions across the campaign, starting from the front of the grid on eleven occasions.

With the 2016 season about to get underway, Rosberg has at last received his hard-earned trophy…

With the idea scrapped after one season, Rosberg can claim to be the only driver in history to win the award. However, that’s likely to be scant consolation for the two Drivers’ Championships in which he had to settle for second.