Marquez leads final day

Spaniard Marc Marquez dominated the final day of testing at Phillip Island in Australia on Friday.

The former world champion took advantage of the dry morning session to post a 1m29.158, just over a tenth of a second quicker than Suzuki rider Maverick Vinales.

With the rain coming down around midday, Marquez was also one of eleven different riders to fall in a total of 13 crashes around the wet track. Most riders went off around the Honda hairpin.

Danilo Petrucci went off on the fast turn eight with an hour of testing to go, bringing out the red flags. The Italian suffered a fractured right hand.

World champion Jorge Lorenzo would settle for ninth, while Yamaha teammate Valentino Rossi was fifth fastest, nearly three tenths off the pace.

All the times:

1. Marc Marquez    ESP    Repsol Honda Team (RC213V)    1m29.158s    [Lap 48/64]
2. Maverick Viñales    ESP    Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)    1m29.299s     0.141s    [11/39]
3. Cal Crutchlow    GBR    LCR Honda (RC213V)    1m29.348s     0.190s    [58/58]
4. Hector Barbera    ESP    Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP14.2)    1m29.361s     0.203s    [57/65]
5. Valentino Rossi    ITA    Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1)    1m29.435s     0.277s    [43/56]
6. Loris Baz    FRA    Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP14.2)    1m29.583s     0.425s    [11/54]
7. Dani Pedrosa    ESP    Repsol Honda Team (RC213V)    1m29.606s     0.448s    [37/42]
8. Pol Espargaro    ESP    Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)    1m29.718s     0.560s    [43/44]
9. Jorge Lorenzo    ESP    Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1)    1m    29.760s     0.602s    [16/41]
10. Andrea Dovizioso    ITA    Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP16)    1m    29.860s     0.702s    [49/65]
11. Scott Redding    GBR    Octo Pramac Yakhnich (Desmosedici GP15)    1m29.922s     0.764s    [57/61]
12. Andrea Iannone    ITA    Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP16)    1m29.932s     0.774s    [39/53]
13. Danilo Petrucci    ITA    Octo Pramac Yakhnich (Desmosedici GP15)    1m29.995s     0.837s    [53/57]
14. Jack Miller    AUS    Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)    1m30.023s     0.865s    [37/37]
15. Tito Rabat    ESP    Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)*    1m30.119s     0.961s    [56/56]
16. Bradley Smith    GBR    Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)    1m30.188s     1.030s    [43/45]
17. Aleix Espargaro    ESP    Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)    1m30.198s     1.040s    [34/38]
18. Yonny Hernandez    COL    Aspar MotoGP Team (Desmosedici GP14.2)    1m30.492s     1.334s    [48/54]
19. Eugene Laverty    IRL    Aspar MotoGP Team (Desmosedici GP14.2)    1m31.055s     1.897s    [25/45]
20. Takuya Tsuda    JPN    Suzuki Test Rider (GSX-RR)    1m33.532s     4.374s    [32/46]