Pedrosa tops FP1 in Malaysia

Repsol Honda's Dani Pedrosa was fastest in Friday's first free practice ahead of the Malaysian Grand Prix.

Hot, humid and hazy conditions greeted the riders in Sepang ahead of the penultimate race off the 2015 campaign, with the teams returning to the venue of the six-day test earlier in the year.

It was the Hondas of Pedrosa and Marc Marquez who topped the timesheets after the opening runs, with Pedrosa – fresh from his win at Phillip Island – posting a 2:00.412 on his second lap, with his team-mate 0.324 off the pace after recording his best time on the last lap of his first run.

The two Movistar Yamahas of Jorge Lorenzo and Valentino Rossi were next best, but while the Hondas were unable to improve on their early times, both Yamaha riders were able to eat into Pedrosa's advantage as the session continued.

On returning to the pits after his first run, Lorenzo appeared to have some work done on his clutch and it paid dividends as he posted a 2:00.622 to move ahead of Marquez.

Rossi improved with a 2:00.915 on the second lap of his second run, but he was unable to move up the standings, with the Italian remaining in fourth at the end of the session.

Scott Redding was one of the late movers, with a 2:01.218 seeing his Marc VDS jump into the top five. Fellow Briton Cal Crutchlow was sixth fastest, with the LCR Honda rider recovering from a fall at turn five to post a 2:01.235.

The Ducati of Andrea Iannone was seventh fastest, 1.009 off the pace, while Hector Barbera of Avintia Racing was the quickest of the Open riders and rounded out the top eight with a 2:01.616.

Aleix Espargaro's Suzuki was ninth fastest with a 2:01.741. Andrea Dovizioso completed the top 10 with a 2:01.917, some 0.9 off the pace of his-team mate Iannone, as the 29-year-old failed to bounce back from a poor weekend in Australia as he would have liked.

Position Rider Team Time/Gap
1 Dani Pedrosa Repsol Honda Team 2'00.412
2 Jorge Lorenzo Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 0.21
3 Marc Marquez Repsol Honda Team 0.324
4 Valentino Rossi Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 0.503
5 Scott Redding EG 0,0 Marc VDS 0.806
6 Cal Crutchlow LCR Honda 0.823
7 Andrea Iannone Ducati Team 1.009
8 Hector Barbera Avintia Racing 1.204
9 Aleix Espargaro Team SUZUKI ECSTAR 1.329
10 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati Team 1.505
11 Danilo Petrucci Octo Pramac Racing 1.545
12 Maverick Vinales Team SUZUKI ECSTAR 1.846
13 Pol Espargaro Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1.847
14 Stefan Bradl Aprilia Racing Team Gresini 1.902
15 Bradley Smith Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1.911
16 Nicky Hayden Aspar MotoGP Team 2.178
17 Yonny Hernandez Octo Pramac Racing 2.66
18 Jack Miller LCR Honda 2.724
19 Alvaro Bautista Aprilia Racing Team Gresini 2.816
20 Mike di Meglio Avintia Racing 2.982
21 Loris Baz Forward Racing 3.017
22 Eugene Laverty Aspar MotoGP Team 3.526
23 Toni Elias Forward Racing 4.084
24 Anthony West AB Motoracing 5.381
25 Damian Cudlin E-Motion IodaRacing Team 7.14