Pedrosa wins in Malaysia followed by Lorenzo

Honda rider Dani Pedrosa won MotoGP's Malaysian Grand Prix ahead of Yamaha duo Jorge Lorenzo in second and Valentino Rossi in third place on Sunday.

There still could be repercussions for Rossi though as he appeared to take out Honda's Marc Marquez earlier in the race trying to overtake him while battling for third place at Turn 13.

 After passing and re-passing each other a few times, Rossi seemed to slow down and drift into Marquez, knocking him off his bike. An incensed Marquez then got up and back on his bike and drove to the pits and retired from the race.

There is clearly bad blood between the two riders as during the week Rossi criticised Marquez's riding at the recent Australian GP saying that the Honda rider was helping Lorenzo's title bid.

MotoGP race direction has announced that they would be investigating the incident after the race.

The race result now means that Lorenzo is only seven points behind Rossi in the championship standings with one race remaining.

Having dropped from fourth to sixth place at the start, Lorenzo recovered to get past the Ducati's of Andrea Iannone and Andrea Dovizioso in the opening lap.

He then caught and went past Rossi and then past Marquez to get the second spot where he stayed for the rest of the race.

In front, Pedrosa seemed at another level and was in a class of his own, never challenged the whole race and was a comfortable winner.

Iannone retired from the race with mechanical problems with team-mate Dovizioso, who crashed out.

Tech 3 Yamaha  rider Bradley Smith finished fourth ahead of Crutchlow's LCR Honda, with Pramac Ducati rider Danilo Petrucci finishing sixth ahead of the Suzuki's of Aleix Espargaro and Maverick Vinales. 

Pol Espargaro was ninth and Stefan Bradl completed the top 10 for Aprilia.

Race results:
1. Dani Pedrosa (Spain) Honda 40:37.691 
2. Jorge Lorenzo (Spain) Yamaha 40:41.303 
3. Valentino Rossi (Italy) Yamaha 40:51.415 
4. Bradley Smith (Britain) Yamaha 41:01.686 
5. Cal Crutchlow (Britain) Honda 41:06.412 
6. Danilo Petrucci (Italy) Ducati 41:14.063 
7. Aleix Espargaro (Spain) Suzuki 41:16.981 
8. Maverick Vinales (Spain) Suzuki 41:17.127 
9. Pol Espargaro (Spain) Yamaha 41:20.153 
10. Stefan Bradl (Germany) Aprilia 41:22.292 
11. Scott Redding (Britain) Honda 41:25.381 
12. Yonny Hernandez (Colombia) Ducati 41:29.803 
13. Hector Barbera (Spain) Ducati 41:30.051 
14. Toni Elias (Spain) Yamaha Forward 41:31.310 
15. Alvaro Bautista (Spain) Aprilia 41:31.322