Trulli confirms Formula E departure

The Trulli Formula E team will leave the all-electric championship with immediate effect, it was announced on Tuesday.

"After failing scrutineering in the Beijing and Putrajaya ePrix and in light of our commercial agreement with Formula E Holdings, we are forced to announce the retirement of Trulli Formula E from the FIA Formula E Championship. As major supporters of this all-electric series, we are pleased to leave space for a new OEM to enter the series and further help develop the series and electric racing technology," CEO of Trulli GP Francesco Testa said.

Trulli joined Formula E ahead of the start of the first season when it took over from the already-entered Drayson Racing team.

The team was one of only eight approved manufacturers for the second season, but various technical and supply issues with its Motomatica JT-01 resulted in them missing both the Beijing and Putrajaya ePrixs.

Alejandro Agag, CEO of Formula E, said: "We are disappointed that Trulli has decided to leave the championship. Having a driver of the status of Jarno Trulli involved in the early days certainly helped to boost the credibility of Formula E. Taking the decision to become a full manufacturer was a bold one, and one that was always going to present challenges due to the technical advances that Formula E is pioneering. While we are very sad to see Trulli leave, this does create an opportunity for a new team and manufacturer to enter and we are very confident about the future strength of the series."

Trulli's departure means only 18 cars will participate in this weekend's Punta del Este ePrix in Uruguay.