Back-to-back Punta wins for Buemi

Sebastien Buemi won the Punta del Este ePrix for the second year in a row after successfully holding off Abt Schaeffler rival Lucas di Grassi.

It was also the Swiss Renault e.dams driver's second win from three races in the Formula E season to date. 

Buemi had to battle from fifth place on the grid, but did it with a minimum of fuss.

He beat di Grassi off the line at the start, and then immediately began applying pressure on third-placed Loic Duval, who had given up second place to Sam Bird.

Buemi found a way past Duval at the hairpin on the fourth lap and then caught up to Bird, passing him a lap later.

Only Dragon Racing's Jerome D'Ambrosio, who had started from pole, stood between him and the race lead, but Buemi needed only two laps to wipe out the 1.8 second advantage the Belgian had carved out.

Buemi got by D'Ambrosio at Turn 17 and by the time the leaders stopped nine laps later, he had opened up a 4.3-second cushion.

Di Grassi, who had fought his way up to third, managed to take second after a perfect pitstop, and also closed the gap on Buemi.

The failure of Bird's DS Virgin DSV-01 led to a full-course yellow, allowing di Grassi to close the gap further.

But despite managing to get right behind the leader, di Grassi could not keep up with Buemi, who held on for victory to take the championship lead as a result of the win and setting the fastest lap.

The two Dragons battled it out for third place behind di Grassi, with D'Ambrosio holding on for the podium finish.

Fifth place went to Buemi's team-mate Nicolas Prost, who finished just ahead of Antonio Felix da Costa for Team Aguri, who are still making use of their season-one package.