Dovizioso snatches Brno MotoGP pole

Ducati rider Andrea Dovizioso claimed pole position at Brno from Yamaha’s Valentino Rossi and Honda’s Marc Marquez, ahead of Sunday’s Czech MotoGP.

Reigning world champion, Marquez, had looked to have claimed the pole with a time of 1’54.961 but, on the final lap of qualifying, Dovizioso went quicker setting a time of 1’54.689 for pole.

Rossi then grabbed second spot from Marquez with a time of 1’54.956 on the last lap.

Next on the grid is Ducati’s Jorge Lorenzo (1’55.038) having been quickest earlier in qualifying until his time was eclipsed by Marquez.

Fifth was Britain’s Cal Crutchlow (1’55.055), on his Honda, and Danilo Petrucci used his spare Ducati bike after a breakdown to close out the second row with a time of 1’55.203.

Yamaha’s Johann Zarco, who had been on pole pace at the beginning of his final lap, finished seventh place.

Andrea Iannone and Alex Rins, on their Suzuki’s, were next with Honda’s Dani Pedrosa completing the top ten.

Qualifying 2:

1 Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP18) 1m 54.689s 315km/h (Top Speed)
2 Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 54.956s +0.267s
3 Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 54.961s +0.272s
4 Jorge Lorenzo ESP Ducati Team (GP18) 1m 55.038s +0.349s
5 Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 1m 55.055s +0.366s
6 Danilo Petrucci ITA Pramac Ducati (GP18) 1m 55.203s +0.514s
7 Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1) 1m 55.221s +0.532s
8 Andrea Iannone ITA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 55.270s +0.581s
9 Alex Rins ESP Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 55.431s +0.742s
10 Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 55.474s +0.785s
11 Tito Rabat ESP Reale Avintia (GP17) 1m 55.686s +0.997s
12 Maverick Viñales ESP Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 55.823s +1.134s

Qualifying 1:

13 Franco Morbidelli ITA EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 1m 56.029s 308k
14 Alvaro Bautista ESP Angel Nieto Team (GP17) 1m 56.031s 311k
15 Bradley Smith GBR Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 56.218s 307k
16 Hafizh Syahrin MAL Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1)* 1m 56.285s 307k
17 Jack Miller AUS Pramac Ducati (GP17) 1m 56.316s 308k
18 Stefan Bradl GER HRC Honda Team (RC213V) 1m 56.330s 310k
19 Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 56.353s 311k
20 Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V)* 1m 56.512s 305k
21 Sylvain Guintoli FRA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 57.037s 308k
22 Thomas Luthi SWI EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 1m 57.208s 306k
23 Karel Abraham CZE Angel Nieto Team (GP16) 1m 57.217s 309k
24 Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 57.250s 309k
25 Scott Redding GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 57.438s 304k
26 Xavier Simeon ESP Reale Avintia (GP16)* 1m 58.048s 308k

Stream every MotoGP race live on the FOX+ app and catch up on highlights of any action you’ve missed. For more info on FOX+ click here or to start your *free 30 day trial download the FOX+ app. * FOX+ is available in select territories