FP2: Iannone pips Marquez to grab top spot

Andrea Iannone

Suzuki rider Andrea Iannone surprised everyone by setting the fastest time in the dying seconds of Friday's second practice sessions for the Americas MotoGP.

A repeat of FP1 looked on the cards as the session wound down, with reigning MotoGP world champion Marc Marquez topping the timesheets ahead of Yamaha duo Maverick Vinales and Valentino Rossi in second and third.

Marquez had managed to lead the way despite taking a tumble after losing the front end as he turned into the Turn 11 left-hander. 

He was able to get back on his bike and coast to the pits, re-emerging to set a series of quicker times, culminating with a 2m04.655s that looked set to go unchallenged.

But Iannone had his own ideas, whipping out an amazing time of 2m04.599s on his final lap of the session to beat Marquez and take first place.

Vinales was pushed down to third, 0.264s off the pace, ahead of Yamaha team-mate Rossi.

Crutchlow completed the top five on his LCR Honda, ahead of Suzuki's Alex Rins, and the Ducatis of Jorge Lorenzo and Andrea Dovizioso.

Aleix Espargaro finished ninth for Aprilia, while the injured Dani Pedrosa managed to improve from 21st in FP1 to 10th this time around.

FP2 times

1 Andrea Iannone Suzuki Suzuki 2m04.599s
2 Marc Marquez Honda Honda 2m04.655s 0.056s
3 Maverick Vinales Yamaha Yamaha 2m04.863s 0.264s
4 Valentino Rossi Yamaha Yamaha 2m04.958s 0.359s
5 Cal Crutchlow LCR Honda Honda 2m05.088s 0.489s
6 Alex Rins Suzuki Suzuki 2m05.452s 0.853s
7 Jorge Lorenzo Ducati Ducati 2m05.487s 0.888s
8 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati Ducati 2m05.647s 1.048s
9 Aleix Espargaro Aprilia Aprilia 2m05.739s 1.140s
10 Dani Pedrosa Honda Honda 2m05.761s 1.162s
11 Danilo Petrucci Pramac Ducati Ducati 2m05.889s 1.290s
12 Tito Rabat Avintia Ducati Ducati 2m05.910s 1.311s
13 Johann Zarco Tech3 Yamaha Yamaha 2m05.933s 1.334s
14 Jack Miller Pramac Ducati Ducati 2m06.016s 1.417s
15 Scott Redding Aprilia Aprilia 2m06.078s 1.479s
16 Hafizh Syahrin Tech3 Yamaha Yamaha 2m06.219s 1.620s
17 Takaaki Nakagami LCR Honda Honda 2m06.397s 1.798s
18 Karel Abraham Aspar Ducati Ducati 2m06.555s 1.956s
19 Thomas Luthi MVDS Honda Honda 2m06.625s 2.026s
20 Franco Morbidelli MVDS Honda Honda 2m06.640s 2.041s
21 Alvaro Bautista Aspar Ducati Ducati 2m06.683s 2.084s
22 Bradley Smith KTM KTM 2m07.033s 2.434s
23 Pol Espargaro KTM KTM 2m07.136s 2.537s
24 Xavier Simeon Avintia Ducati Ducati 2m08.021s 3.422s