Marquez takes pole in Australia after Dovizioso crash

Marquez giành pole tại Úc sau khi Dovizioso gặp sự cố

Marc Marquez moved a step closer to sealing the world championship after taking pole position for Sunday’s Australian MotoGP.

The Honda driver saw off the challenge of Yamaha duo Maverick Vinales and Johann Zarco to go fastest at Phillip Island in a time of 1’28.386.

Vinales and Zarco had brief spells when they were out in front, but Marquez eventually finished up a third of a second quicker than both of the pair.

But while everything went to plan for Marquez, it was a miserable afternoon for championship rival Andrea Dovizioso, who will have to come through the field from 11th on the grid.

Dovizioso had a nasty fall at the Lukey Heights turn in FP4 and couldn’t even finish in the top 10 when qualifying got underway.

Andrea Iannone is in fourth after the Italian recovered well from his morning crash in the wet, while Jack Miller was an impressive fifth – the best result of his career.

Valentino Rossi came through Q1 qualifying to make the third row in seventh, but Friday’s quickest rider Aleix Espargaro had to settle for eighth.

Last year’s Australian GP winner Cal Crutchlow crashed his LCR Honda towards the end of the qualifying session and will start the race in 10th spot.

Jorge Lorenzo – who injured his right ankle in a crash during the morning’s practice – is in 16th spot.

Australian MotoGP Q2 Times:

1. Marc MARQUEZ SPA Repsol Honda Team 1’28.386
2. Maverick VIÑALES SPA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 1’28.719 0.333 / 0.333
3. Johann ZARCO FRA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1’28.744 0.358 / 0.025
4. Andrea IANNONE ITA Team SUZUKI ECSTAR 1’28.937 0.551 / 0.193
5. Jack MILLER AUS EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 1’28.964 0.578 / 0.027
6. Pol ESPARGARO SPA Red Bull KTM Factory Racing 1’29.030 0.644 / 0.0663
7. Valentino ROSSI ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 1’29.203 0.817 / 0.173
8. Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Aprilia Racing Team Gresini 1’29.271 0.885 / 0.068
9. Bradley SMITH GBR Red Bull KTM Factory Racing 1’29.321 0.935 / 0.050
10. Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR LCR Honda 1’29.429 1.043 / 0.108
11. Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Ducati Team 1’29.496 1.110 / 0.067
12. Dani PEDROSA SPA Repsol Honda Team 1’29.546 1.160 / 0.050