First Le Mans pole for Lorenzo

Jorge Lorenzo became the first rider to break into the 1:31s at the Le Mans circuit as he secured his maiden pole position at the French track.

In front of a packed Le Mans circuit, the Yamaha rider hit the front on his opening flying lap with a 1:32.437, which put him 0.032s up on Andrea Iannone.

Marc Marquez was down in 11th place after running wide off the track but improved to P5 on his second flying lap. His team-mate Dani Pedrosa was P6 when he crashed at Turn 4 having lost the front of his Repsol Honda.

As the Honda pairing struggled, Lorenzo upped his pace to a 1:32.236 to put 0.233s between himself and Iannone. Valentino Rossi was provisionally on the front row, half a second down.

Heading out for a second and final run, Iannone’s chances of securing pole position were dealt a blow when he slid out at the Esses on his out-lap while still holding down second place on the timesheets.

A 1:31.975, the first rider ever into the 1:31s at Le Mans, secured pole position for Lorenzo while Marquez put in a late effort to jump up to second. He was, however, 0.441s down.

Iannone qualified in third place ahead of Pol Espargaro, Andrea Dovizioso and Bradley Smith.

Rossi fell to P7 in the closing minute while Pedrosa finished down in 11th place.

Aleix Espargaro and Danilo Petrucci were the two riders who progressed through Q1. They qualified P12 and P10 respectively.

It was not a great afternoon for France’s Loris Baz as the Avintia Racing rider, who twice crashed in the earlier practice sessions, was slowest of all, down in 21st place.

1 Jorge LORENZO Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 1’31.975
2 Marc MARQUEZ Repsol Honda Team 1’32.416 +0.441
3 Andrea IANNONE Ducati Team 1’32.469 0.494
4 Pol ESPARGARO Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1’32.502 0.527
5 Andrea DOVIZIOSO Ducati Team 1’32.587 0.612
6 Bradley SMITH Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1’32.820 0.845
7 Valentino ROSSI Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 1’32.829 0.854
8 Maverick VIÑALES Team SUZUKI ECSTAR 1’32.933 0.958
9 Cal CRUTCHLOW LCR Honda 1’32.963 0.988
10 Danilo PETRUCCI OCTO Pramac Yakhnich 1’33.102 1.127
11 Dani PEDROSA Repsol Honda Team 1’33.109 1.134
12 Aleix ESPARGARO Team SUZUKI ECSTAR 1’33.115 1.140
13 Hector BARBERA Avintia Racing 1’33.291
14 Scott REDDING OCTO Pramac Yakhnich 1’33.310
15 Yonny HERNANDEZ Aspar Team MotoGP 1’33.360
16 Eugene LAVERTY Aspar Team MotoGP 1’33.452
17 Stefan BRADL Aprilia Racing Team Gresini 1’34.003
18 Jack MILLER Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS 1’34.049
19 Alvaro BAUTISTA Aprilia Racing Team Gresini 1’34.333
20 Tito RABAT Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS 1’34.348
21 Loris BAZ Avintia Racing 1’34.455