Lawrie handed Wattel test

The 1999 Open champion tees off on Thursday lunchtime against an opponent 186??places above him in the world rankings, looking to follow on from recent strong showings at the Open and the Scottish Open.??

No 1 seed James Morrison faces Pelle Edberg, who ended a run of four straight missed cuts with an impressive showing in Switzerland last week, while Omega European Masters runner-up Matt Fitzpatrick has been drawn against Bradley Dredge.

One of the big draws of this week’s event is two-time major winner John Daly,??who missed the cut at the Open, one of four missed cuts in six European Tour??events this year. The American plays Spaniard Jorge Campillo, whose best finish this season is a tie for 15th at the Open de France.??

Former Ryder Cup winner Nicolas Colsaerts will take on Gregory Bourdy and in-form Max Kieffer entertains Michael Hoey, with top-ranked Scot Marc Warren going off in the afternoon against Richard Bland.

The format will see 64 players battle it out in straight knockout over four days, with two rounds on both Saturday and Sunday.

First round tee times:

0800 Julien Quesne (Fra), Tom Lewis

0810 Scott Hend (Aus), Jeev Milkha Singh (Ind)

0820 Maximilian Kieffer (Den), Michael Hoey

0830 Kristoffer Broberg (Swe), Richard Finch

0840 Richie Ramsay, Shiv Kapur (Ind)

0850 Magnus A Carlsson (Swe), Edoardo Molinari (Ita)

0900 Matthew Fitzpatrick, Bradley Dredge

0910 Peter Uihlein (USA), Oliver Wilson

0925 Chris Wood, Jbe Kruger (Rsa)

0935 Jorge Campillo (Esp), John Daly (USA)

0945 Raphael Jacquelin (Fra), Seve Benson

0955 Gregory Havret (Fra), David Horsey

1005 Alexander Levy (Fra), Mark Foster

1015 Morten Orum Madsen (Den), Alvaro Quiros (Es)

1025 Tyrrell Hatton, Darren Fichardt (Rsa)

1035 Robert Rock, Mikael Lundberg (Swe)

1230 Anthony Wall, Chris Doak

1240 Romain Wattel (Fra), Paul Lawrie

1250 Thomas Aiken (Rsa), Scott Jamieson

1300 Andrew Dodt (Aus), Oliver Fisher

1310 Alejandro Canizares (Esp), Lucas Bjerregaard (Den)

1320 Marcus Fraser (Aus), Robert Karlsson (Swe)

1330 Gregory Bourdy (Fra), Nicolas Colsaerts (Bel)

1340 Trevor Fisher Jnr (Rsa), Thorbjorn Olesen (Den)

1355 David Howell, Daniel Brooks

1405 Thomas Pieters (Bel), David Drysdale

1415 Kiradech Aphibarnrat (Tha), Wade Ormsby (Aus)

1425 Andrew Johnston, Graeme Storm

1435 James Morrison, Pelle Edberg (Swe)

1445 Johan Carlsson (Swe), Marco Crespi (Ita)

1455 Marc Warren, Richard Bland

1505 Felipe Aguilar (Chi), Fabrizio Zanotti (Par)