Golf field for Olympic Games confirmed

Golf is returning to the Olympics after 112 years and boasts a diverse field of golfers, but the big-name omissions from the men’s field are hard to overlook.

Golfers from no less than 41 countries will be taking part in the event, which will be held at the Reserva de Marapendi Golf Course from August 11 to 20.

Across the men’s and women’s competition, there will be 32 players from Asia, seven from Australasia and Oceania, while Africa will have five representatives. Europe, North America and South America will have 52, 14 and 10 players competing respectively.

In the men’s event, Bubba Watson is the top seed despite being surpassed in the world rankings by Sweden’s Henrik Stenson, who won his first major title at The Open last week. Rickie Fowler, reigning Masters champion Danny Willett and Justin Rose round out the top five.

World number one Lydia Ko will be the player to beat in the women’s event as she has won four tournaments this year, including one major. Brooke Henderson, who won her maiden major title at the Women’s PGA Championship last month, Inbee Park, Lexi Thompson and Sei Young Kim complete the top five in the seedings.

Many high-profile players, including men’s world number one Jason Day, Jordan Spieth and Rory McIlroy, are missing from the event though due to concerns about the Zika virus, while some have attributed their withdrawals to busy schedules.

Asian contingent – Men’s

Byeong Hun An – South Korea

Thongchai Jaidee – Thailand

Kiradech Aphibarnrat – Thailand

Anirban Lahiri – India

Jeunghun Wang – South Korea

Yuta Ikeda – Japan

Shingo Katayama – Japan

Wu Ashun – China

Miguel Tabuena – Philippines

Hao Tong Li – China

SSP Chawrasia – India

Danny Chia – Malaysia

Cheng Tsung Pan – Chinese Taipei

Siddikur Rahman – Bangladesh

Gavin Kyle Green – Malaysia


Asian contingent – Women’s 

Inbee Park – South Korea

Sei Young Kim – South Korea

Amy Yang – South Korea

Ariya Jutanugarn – Thailand

In Gee Chun – South Korea

Shanshan Feng – China

Harukyo Nomura – Japan

Teresa Lu – Chinese Taipei

Candie Kung – Chinese Taipei

Pornanong Phatlum – Thailand

Shiho Oyama – Japan

Xiyu Lin – China

Kelly Tan – Malaysia

Tiffany Chan – Hong Kong

Michelle Koh – Malaysia

Aditi Ashok – India