Ricciardo fuming at grid penalty

Daniel Ricciardo is fuming about his grid penalty at the Australian Grand Prix after insisting that common sense should have prevailed.

The Aussie was hit with a three-place grid penalty on Friday after the stewards ruled that he had not slowed sufficiently for the red flag in FP2.

The reds were waved when a timing cable came loose on the start/finish line. The penalty means no matter what happens in qualifying, Ricciardo’s best starting position can be P4.

“Yesterday’s news has been pretty bitter for me. I’m ****** to say the least,” he told Ten.

“I made a mistake, no doubt about it, but is that mistake worth a grid penalty in a practice session when no car’s on track, no-one’s upside down.

“It was a cable on the track. I didn’t pass the incident.

“I just think common sense should have prevailed.”

Stream every F1 race live on the FOX+ app and catch up on highlights of any action you’ve missed. For more info on FOX+ click here
In Singapore, subscribe to FOX+ through Singtel and StarHub.
In Hong Kong, subscribe to FOX+ through Now TV.