The revised Italian GP grid

Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari

Six, you read that right, six drivers have been hit with grid penalties for the Italian Grand Prix – and all are engine or gearbox related.

Max Verstappen, Nico Hulkenberg, Carlos Sainz, Daniel Ricciardo and Jolyon Palmer have penalties relating from 10 to 25 points while Fernando Alonso, the hardest hit, has a 35-place grid drop.

The McLaren-Honda driver will, however, be starting P19 as Romain Grosjean crashed out of qualifying in the wet on Saturday.

The grid
1 Lewis Hamilton
2 Lance Stroll
3 Esteban Ocon
4 Valtteri Bottas 
5 Kimi Raikkonen
6 Sebastian Vettel
7 Felipe Massa
8 Stoffel Vandoorne
9 Sergio Perez
10 Daniil Kvyat
11 Kevin Magnussen 
12 Marcus Ericsson
13 Pascal Wehrlein
14 Max Verstappen *
15 Nico Hulkenberg **
16 Carlos Sainz ***
17 Daniel Ricciardo ****
18 Jolyon Palmer *****
19 Fernando Alonso ******
20 Romain Grosjean

* Verstappen 20-place engine penalty
** Hulkenberg 10-place engine penalty
*** Sainz 10-place engine penalty
**** Ricciardo 25-place engine and gearbox penalty
***** Palmer 15-place engine penalty
****** Alonso 35-place engine penalty

Experience the full coverage of the FIA Formula One season throughout 2017 on FOX Sports Play, where you can watch LIVE races from angles, unlike any other, highlights, interviews, behind the scenes and much more. Don’t miss it!