Lee Chung-yong fails to make final cut for Korea Republic

Gabriel Tan Gabriel Tan

Crystal Palace winger Lee Chung-yong was the highest-profile casualty as Korea Republic named their squad for the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

Just over 12 hours after seeing his team lose 3-1 to Bosnia-Herzegovina in a friendly, Korea Republic coach Shin Tae-yong confirmed his final 23-man list for Russia 2018.

And Lee was the most famous name to be cut from the provisional squad, having only managed nine games in all competition for Crystal Palace this season.

The other two unlucky ones to miss out are Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors left-back Kim Jin-su and Tianjin Quanjian centre-back Kwon Kyung-won.

Shin had also lost the services of Kwon Chang-hoon and Lee Keun-ho previously, after the Dijon and Gangwon FC stars were ruled out through injury.

Instead, it will be the usual suspects such as Son Heung-min, Koo Ja-cheol and Ki Sung-yueng – who won his 100th cap against Bosnia-Herzegovina on Friday – to lead the Taegeuk Warriors’ charge.

However, Shin could have an ace up his sleeve in the form of Lee Seung-woo, the 20-year-old starlet who was tipped for greatness when he was coming through the Barcelona academy but has since gotten his break in Serie A with Verona.

The South Koreans open their World Cup Group F campaign against Sweden on June 18, before facing Mexico five days later and finishing up with a tough assignment against defending champions Germany on June 27.

Goalkeepers: Kim Seung-gyu (Vissel Kobe), Kim Jin-hyeon (Cerezo Osaka), Cho Hyun-woo (Daegu FC)

Defenders: Kim Young-gwon (Guangzhou Evergrande), Jang Hyun-soo (FC Tokyo), Park Joo-ho (Ulsan Hyundai), Lee Yong (both Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors), Go Yo-han (FC Seoul), Kim Min-woo, Hong Chul (both Sangju Sangmu), Yun Young-sun (Seongnam FC), Jung Seung-hyun (Sagan Tosu), Oh Ban-suk (Jeju United)

Midfielders: Ki Sung-yueng (unattached), Koo Ja-cheol (FC Augsburg), Lee Jae-sung (Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors), Jung Woo-young (Vissel Kobe), Ju Se-jong (Asan Mugunghwa), Lee Seung-woo (Hellas Verona), Moon Seon-min (Incheon United)

Forwards:  Son Heung-min (Tottenham), Kim Shin-wook (Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors), Hwang Hee-chan (Red Bull Salzburg)