City tie Arsenal’s EPL winning-streak record

Manchester City equalled the Premier League’s record winning streak on Sunday when they beat Manchester United 2-1 for a fourteenth consecutive victory.

The run began at the end of August with a 2-1 win away at Bournemouth, and has included included a 6-0 win at Watford and 5-0 wins against both Liverpool and Crystal Palace.

Pep Guardiola’s side also recently hit seven against Stoke, although they have ridden their luck in some games, most notably when Raheem Sterling netted an injury-time winner against Southampton in late November

City are now level with Arsenal’s mark set back in 2002, and have the chance to break that record in midweek when they visit Swansea.

We take a look at five of the longest winning streaks in the history of the Premier League

Chelsea 2009 (11 wins)

With five wins to finish off the 2008/2009 season, Gus Hiddink’s men started the season with a bang, winning their first six games to set the club record before going onto win the title that term.

Manchester United 2008-2009 (11 wins)

Spurred on by the goals of Wayne Rooney and Cristiano Ronaldo, the Red Devils won 11 games on the trot, winning the title for a third consecutive time.

Liverpool 2014 (11 wins)

Brendan Rodgers’ side won 11 on the bounce to be on the verge of their first title in more than 20 years before that infamous Gerrard slip and Crystal Palace’s epic comeback ended their season in heartbreak.

Manchester United 2000 (12 wins)

Sir Alex Ferguson’s team were top of the tree before they went on an incredible 11-game winning run that saw them seal the title by a massive 18-point gap. They won the first game of the next season before the run came to an end.

Arsenal 2002 (14 Wins)

The benchmark! The longest winning run to date was another run spread over two seasons, the Gunners wrapped up the 2001/2002 Premier League title by winning their final 13 games before opening the new campaign with another win to set the record that still stands.

The John Dykes Show every Monday, Wednesday & Friday @ 8:30 PM HKT