Mandzukic: No Carvajal bite

Mandzukic backed Carvajal’s denials of a bite in a Twitter statement after the bruising quarter final clash encounter on Tuesday night which ended 0-0.

“Yesterday’s match was very hard and both teams gave everything, but for me there was no controversy, no bite, or anything,” the Croat striker said.

“We’re all thinking about Saturday’s match against Deportivo which is very important.”

Mandzukic ended the Champions League game with a bloodied face after an elbow from Real defender Sergio Ramos.

But his clash with Spanish international Carvajal dominated post-match talk.

Battling in the penalty area, Mandzukic’s raised his arm to hold back his rival, and as Carvajal moved round, his mouth came close to Mandzukic’s arm. He then clearly landed a punch in the striker’s chest.

Serbian referee Milorad Mazic was unsighted and Carvajal was fortunate not to concede a penalty for the punch, but Carvajal could still face retrospective action by UEFA.

“I saw after the game that I am accused of biting an opponent player, I want to clarify that I have not bitten anyone, nor attempted to,” Carvajal said on Twitter.

Comments