Indonesia, Vietnam and Myanmar among host nations for 2020 AFC U-16 and U-19 Championship Qualifiers

AFC U19 Championship

The Asian Football Confederation (AFC) have confirmed the nations that will host the 2020 AFC U-16 and U-19 Championship Qualifiers to be held later this year.

Cambodia, Myanmar, Vietnam and Chinese Taipei will host the East Zone matches in the 2020 AFC U-19 Championship Qualifiers. As many as 21 nations will take part in the qualifiers with four groups of four teams and a fifth group with five teams.

The nation to host the fifth group of the AFC U-19 championship is yet to be finalised and “will be determined after all the necessary confirmations from the bidding Member Association,” according to the AFC.

Bahrain, Iraq, IR Iran, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and Tajikistan will host the West Zone qualifiers. 25 teams will be pooled into five groups of four teams and one group of five teams.

Meanwhile, the East Zone of the 2020 AFC U-16 Championship Qualifiers will be held in Laos, Indonesia, Myanmar, Singapore and Vietnam. 22 teams will take part in the East Zone qualifiers.

The West Zone will, meanwhile, feature 25 teams and will be hosted by IR Iran, Jordan, Kyrgyz Republic, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and Uzbekistan.

Saudi Arabia are the defending champions of the AFC U-19 Championship while Japan are the winners at the U-16 level.