AFC Cup 2019: Amri nets last-gasp stunner as Tampines march on

Gabriel Tan Gabriel Tan

Tampines Rovers reclaimed their three-point lead at the top of Group F in AFC Cup 2019 after claiming a thrilling 4-2 win over Nagaworld at the Jalan Besar Stadium.

The Stags got off to a dream start in the third minute when Zehrudin Mehmedovic played an incisive pass that split the opposition defence and picked out Irwan Shah, who made no mistake in finishing past Sou Yaty.

AFC Cup 2019: Tampines Rovers 1-0 Nagaworld FC (Irwan Shah 3′)

But 11 minutes later, the visitors responded when Kouch Dani was sent racing through down the right and made no mistake in finding the bottom corner.

AFC Cup 2019: Tampines Rovers 1-1 Nagaworld FC (Kouch Dani 14′)

Tampines then looked to have snatched the win with three minutes remaining when Jordan Webb broke free down the left before laying the ball back to Yasir Hanapi, who hit the back of the net with a half-volley.

AFC Cup 2019: Tampines Rovers 2-1 Nagaworld FC (Yasir Hanapi 87′)

Nagaworld responded again and looked to have forced the draw in the 90th minute when Esoh Omogba flicked a header on to Amir Gurbani, before racing into the box to meet the return pass and slide the ball in from a yard out.

AFC Cup 2019: Tampines Rovers 2-2 Nagaworld FC (Omogba Esoh 90′)

Nonetheless, Tampines reclaimed the lead in remarkable fashion just a minute later when Ryutaro Megumi raced down the right and crossed to the far post, where Khairul Amri produced a fantastic acrobatic overhead kick to send the ball past Samrith Seiha, who had come on moments earlier for the injured Sou Yaty.

AFC Cup 2019: Tampines Rovers 3-2 Nagaworld FC (Khairul Amri 90+1′)

And, in the seventh minute of injury-time, the hosts went on to secure the three points after Webb embarked on another enterprising run down the left before clinically finishing.

AFC Cup 2019: Tampines Rovers 4-2 Nagaworld FC (Jordan Webb 90+7′)

With the win, Tampines reclaimed their three-point lead over second-placed Hanoi FC and continue to look in a strong position to qualify for the ASEAN Zone semi-finals.

TAMPINES ROVERS: Syazwan Buhari, Madhu Mohana, Daniel Bennett, Amirul Adli, Irwan Shah (Mirza Delimedjac 77’), Shahdan Sulaiman, Yasir Hanapi (Akmal Azman 90+3’), Zehrudin Mehmedovic, Ryutaro Megumi, Jordan Webb, Khairul Amri (Taufik Suparno 90+5’).

NAGAWORLD: Sou Yaty (Samrith Seiha 84’), Leng Makara, Anderson Zogbe, Nhim Sovannara, Khim Borey, Kouch Sokumpheak, Kouch Dani, Sos Suhana, Suong Virak (Esoh Omogba 25’), Amir Gurbani, Atuheire Kipson.