PSM Makassar put seven past Lao Toyota for maiden AFC Cup win

Gabriel Tan Gabriel Tan

PSM Makassar picked up their first-ever win in the AFC Cup after crushing Lao Toyota 7-3 in Wednesday’s Group H clash at the Pakansari Stadium.

Wiljan Pluim opened the scoring for PSM in the 12th minute when he rifled a shot into the bottom corner after latching onto a layoff by Bayu Gatra, but Lao Toyota equalised two minutes later when he wriggled his way free and beat Rivky Mokodompit with a deflected effort.

AFC Cup 2019: PSM Makassar 2-1 Lao Toyota FC – Zulham Zamrun (21′)

The hosts reclaimed the lead in the 21st minute as Zulham Zamrun played the ball to Eero Markkanen, before racing into the box to receive the return pass and lash a shot into the top corner.

Zulham turned provider in the 59th minute as he set up Pluim to score with a curler, before Markkanen made it 4-1 two minutes later with a towering header from Taufik Hidayat’s cross.

AFC Cup 2019: PSM Makassar 5-1 Lao Toyota FC – Eero Markkanen (70′)

Markkanen hit the back of the net once more in the 70th minute with an emphatic finish after being played through by Bayu Gatra’s neat through-ball, but the visitors – to their credit – never stopped trying and pulled one back six minutes after when Rafael found the top corner with a sublime 20-yard curler that had Rivky beaten all ends up.

AFC Cup 2019: PSM Makassar 5-2 Lao Toyota FC – Rafael (77′)

But PSM were never in any real danger and further extended their lead through goals from Ferdinand Sinaga (80’) and Marc Klok (85’), before Homma notched a third consolation for the Laotian outfit in the final minute.

PSM MAKASSAR: Rivky Mokodompit, Beny Wahyudi, Aaron Evans, Abdul Rahman Sulaiman, Taufik Hidayat, Marc Klok, Muhammad Arfan (Rasyid Bakri 77’), Bayu Gatra (Saldi 70’), Wiljan Pluim, Zulham Zamrun, Eero Markkanen (Ferdinand Sinaga 77’).

LAO TOYOTA: Outthilath Nammakhoth, Saison Khounsamnan, Thipphachanh Inthavong, Ketsada Souksavanh, Sayfa Aphideth (Bounphithak Chanthalangsy 74’), Somsavath Sophabmixay, Manolom Phetphakdy (Konekham Inthammavong 58’; Aphisith Philady 74’), Victor Amaro, Rafael, Soma Otani, Kazuo Homma.