AFC Cup 2019: ASEAN champions Home United humbled by Kaya FC-Iloilo

Gabriel Tan Gabriel Tan

Reigning ASEAN Zone champions Home United were handed a humiliation in AFC Cup 2019 on Wednesday as they were thrashed 5-0 by Kaya FC-Iloilo at the Panaad Stadium.

The deadlock was broken inside two minutes when Home goalkeeper Haikal Hasnol completely flapped at a corner, leaving with the simple task of guiding a header into the unguarded goal.

AFC Cup 2019: Kaya FC Iloilo 1-0 Home United (Darryl Roberts – 2′)

The visitors had a golden opportunity to pull level two minutes later when Izzdin Shafiq’s freekick was helped across goal by Abdil Qaiyyim, but Isaka Cernak failed to shoot with any conviction and wastefully fired straight at Louie Casas from point-blank range.

Three minutes after the half-hour mark, Haikal was again to blame as Kaya doubled their advantage as the rookie custodian allowed Jovin Bedic’s speculative attempt to sail over his head and into the far corner.

AFC Cup 2019: Kaya FC Iloilo 2-0 Home United FC (Jovin Bedic 34′)

The contest was effectively over in the 37th minute when Connor Tacagni’s right-wing cross found Roberts, who calmly finished past Haikal to net his second of the afternoon.

Still, Kaya refused to take their foot off the pedal after the break and more hesitant defending from the visitors paved the way for Alfred Osei to fire home from close range in the 49th minute.

AFC Cup 2019: Kaya FC Iloilo 4-0 Home United FC (Alfred Osei 49′)

Six minutes later, the rout was completed as Osei grabbed a brace of his own, pouncing on a loose ball on the edge of the box and unleashing a low drive into the bottom corner.

The result means Kaya have now picked up four points from their opening two matches, while the Protectors have just one and are facing an uphill task to emulate last year’s run to the ASEAN Zone title.

KAYA FC-ILOILO: Louie Casas, Tyler Matas (Shirmar Felongco 73’), Masanari Omura, Camelo Tacusalme, Jalsor Soriano, Connor Tacagni (Yannick Tuason 82’), Marwin Angeles (Arnel Amita 84’), Alfred Osei, Jovin Bedic, Darryl Roberts, Jordan Mintah.

HOME UNITED: Haikal Hasnol, Abdil Qaiyyim, Juma’at Jantan (Hafiz Nor 55’), Faizal Roslan, Faritz Hameed, Aqhari Abdullah (Iqram Rifqi 64’), Izzdin Shafiq, Ho Wai Loon, Isaka Cernak, Adam Swandi, Shahril Ishak (Muhelmy Suhaimi 80’).