Buriram United up and running in AFC Champions League after Jeonbuk triumph

Gabriel Tan Gabriel Tan

Buriram United are off the mark in AFC Champions League 2019 after claiming an impressive 1-0 win over Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors at the Chang Arena on Wednesday.

Supachok Sarachat was the hero for the Thai League 1 outfit as he popped up with a 50th-minute winner, ensuring that his side bounced back after a heavy 3-0 loss to Urawa Red Diamonds last week.

The victory against the two-time former ACL winners will come as a huge confidence boost to Buriram following a slow start to 2019, which has seen them win just one of their four matches prior to Wednesday’s game.

AFC Champions League 2019: Buriram United 1-0 Jeonbuk Hyundai – Supachok Sarachart (50′)

While both sides created their fair share of chances in the opening 45, it was the hosts who arguably came the closest in the 27th minute Supachai Jaided spun his way free outside the area – selling a couple of dummies along the way – before firing away a low shot that clipped the outside of the post.

However, there was no denying Buriram five minutes into the second half as they hit the visitors on the counter; Supachok running onto Pedro Junior’s incisive pass and advancing into the area before lashing a shot towards goal and catching Song Bum-keun out of position.

It was then Jeonbuk’s turn to rue their luck in the 69th minute as they were denied by the woodwork, after Ricardo Lopes skipped past a couple of challenges and blasted away a shot that smashed off the bar.

Impressively, Buriram always looked in control of proceedings as they showed the composure to play out the remainder of the contest to claim an important three points in Group G, as they bid to emulate last year’s feat of reaching the Round of 16.

In the group’s other game on Wednesday, Beijing Guoan played out a 0-0 draw with 2017 winners Urawa Red Diamonds.

BURIRAM UNITED: Siwarak Tedsungnoen, Chitipat Tanklang, Andres Tunez, Pansa Hemviboon, Narubadin Weerawatnodom, Suchao Nutnum, Ratthanakorn Maikami, Sasalak Haiprakhon, Supachok Sarachat (Suphanat Mueanta 90’), Supachai Jaided (Jakkaphan Kaewprom 79’), Pedro Junior (Modibo Maiga 72’).

JEONBUK HYUNDAI MOTORS: Song Bum-keun, Hong Jeong-ho, Kim Min-hyeok, Lee Ju-yong (Moon Seon-min 60’), Choi Chul-soon (Tiago Alves 78’), Shin Hyung-min, Son Jun-ho, Kim Jin-su, Lee Seung-gi (Kim Shin-wook 46’), Ricardo Lopes, Lee Dong-gook.