Fulham youngster Ben Davis and Baihakki Khaizan in Singapore squad

Kelvin Leong Kelvin Leong

V. Sundram Moorthy has sprung a surprise by calling up Fulham FC’s Benjamin Davis and Udon Thani’s Baihakki Khaizan for Singapore’s upcoming international fixtures.

A new face will appear when Singapore take on Maldives and Chinese Taipei later this month with Fulham FC U-18 youngster Benjamin Davis receiving his first call-up.

The Lions are scheduled to take on Maldives on March 23 at the Singapore National Stadium in an international ‘A’ friendly before their final AFC Asian Cup Group E qualifier away to Chinese Taipei on March 27.

Joining Davis will be Udon Thani FC centre-back Baihakki Khaizan who has earned a recall for his superb start to life in Thai League 2.

“Nothing beats the feeling of playing for your country,” Baihakki told FOX Sports Asia. “I am happy to be able to contribute and play my part again.

“I feel rejuvenated since moving to play in Thailand for Udon Thani and this is a fantastic way to start the year.

“Like everyone else, I’ll report for training and give it all I have got like I always do for Singapore.”

Most of Singapore’s foreign-based players like Faris Ramli (PKNS FC), Hassan Sunny (Army United), Zulfahmi Arifin (Chonburi FC), Izwan Mahbud (Nongbua Pitchaya), Hariss Harun (Johor Darul Ta’zim), Safuwan Baharudin (Pahang FA), Shahdan Sulaiman (Melaka United) and Hafiz Sujad (Johor Darul Ta’zim II) have all been called up. Navy FC winger Gabriel Quak misses out.

Sundram Moorthy has also given a chance for the youngsters to step up with Irfan Fandi, Iqbal Hussain and Adam Swandi all included in the team.

Veteran trio Daniel Bennett, Fahrudin Mustafic and national team captain Shahril Ishak have not been called up.

Singapore squad for Maldives and Chinese Taipei:

Goalkeepers: Hassan Sunny, Izwan Mahbud, Zaiful Nizam

Defenders: Emmeric Ong, Anders Aplin, Irfan Fandi, Nazrul Nazari, Zulfahmi Arifin, Shakir Hamzah, Hafiz Sujad, Baihakki Khaizan

Midfielders: Hariss Harun, Safuwan Baharudin, Shahdan Sulaiman, Izzdin Shafiq, Yasir Hanapi, M. Anumanthan, Adam Swandi, Shawal Anuar, Benjamin James Davis

Strikers: Iqbal Hussain, Ikhsan Fandi (on standby), Khairul Amri, Faris Ramli