Ceres-Negros down Global Cebu to win Philippines Football League

Ceres-Negros were crowned the inaugural champions of the Philippines Football League on Saturday after claiming a 4-1 win over Global Cebu in the final.

It took Ceres just four minutes to open the scoring at the Panaad Park and Stadium, when Bienvenido Maranon was picked out inside the box by Iain Ramsay and made no mistake in finding the back of the net.

Ramsay then doubled his side’s lead in the 20th minute with a simple tap-in, after Stephan Schrock had gotten in behind the opposition defence and unselfishly squared the ball into his team-mate’s path.

Seven minutes later, the Busmen edged further ahead as Junior Munoz embarked on a barnstorming run down the right, before cutting the ball back to leave Ramsay with another straightforward finish.

The contest was then effectively ended a minute after the hour mark when Ramsay completed his hat-trick, before Darryl Roberts netted a consolation for Global a minute from time.

Nonetheless, that late goal conceded did little to blemish what had been a dominant display from Ceres, as they claimed the first-ever PFL crown in commanding fashion.

Meanwhile, on Saturday, Meralco Manila claimed third place as they beat Kaya FC-Makati 3-1 at the Rizal Memorial Stadium.

Meralco were never in danger of losing the tie after Joaquin Canas’ opener and a Curt Dizon brace put them three up inside the opening 25 minutes, before Jovin Bedic netted a second-half consolation of Kaya.

Photo credit: Ceres-Negros FC