Shan United win first-ever Myanmar National League title

Gabriel Tan Gabriel Tan

Shan United were crowned Myanmar National League champions for the first time following a 4-0 triumph over Hantharwady United on the final day of the season.

Heading into Sunday holding a two-point lead at the top of the table, Shan had their destiny in their own hands and duly did not disappoint.

Zin Min Tun opened the scoring with a close-range effort to ease the nerves, getting in ahead of his marker to turn home Htike Htike Aung’s right-wing cross from inside the six-yard box.

Soe Min Oo then doubled their lead, cleverly spinning free inside the box and lashing a left-footed strike into the back of the net, before netting again when he was left unmarked to finish Hein Thiha Zaw’s delivery from the left.

Top scorer Christopher Chizoba also got in on the act, notching his 15th goal of the campaign to make it 4-0 and ensure his side secured the title in emphatic fashion.

Shan’s triumph is the first time a side other than Yadanarbon or Yangon United have emerged as champions of Myanmar in the National League’s nine-year history.

It also means that Shan will represent Myanmar in continental competition next year, either in the AFC Cup or as an entrant in the AFC Champions League at the preliminary stages.

For their part, Yangon United did all they could to pip Shan as they cruised to a 7-0 victory at home to Chin United.

Kyaw Ko Ko broke the deadlock after six minutes and a brace from Cesar then ensured Yangon were firmly in control of proceedings at the break.

It ultimately was not enough to seal the title but, at the very least, the four-time champions finished on a high as they added further goals from Emerson, Kekere Moukailou, Soe Min Naing and Cesar – completing his hat-trick – for a resounding win.

Elsewhere, a Yan Kyaw Htwe double and a strike from Kyaw Swar Lin helped Zwekapin United beat Southern Myanmar 3-0, GFA drew 1-1 with Magway, while Ayeyawady United were beaten 2-1 by Rakhine United.