Toyota Mekong Club Championship launches fourth edition

The Toyota Mekong Club Championship 2017 was launched on Monday morning with the fourth edition of the club competition set to take place from December 9 to January 6.

The TMCC, which was launched in 2014, pits together top club sides from Southeast Asia’s Mekong region, namely Thailand, Vietnam, Myanmar, Cambodia and Laos.

Myanmar will be absent from the upcoming edition but the tournament will still feature the Thai League Cup champions, as well as the winners from Vietnam’s V.League 1, the Lao Premier League and the C League of Cambodia.

ready for Mekong Club final match ??⚽️⚽️⚽️ #toyota #toyotamekongclubchampionship2016 #football

A post shared by Atis Thongurai (@pongbah) on

“Toyota established TMCC back in 2014 with the objective of enriching the lives of the community through football in the Mekong countries,” said the organisers in Monday’s official press release.

“Considering the great enthusiasm demonstrated by the fans and the success of TMCC over the past few years, Toyota has decided to continue with TMCC in 2017.

“We believe that pursuing sports enables the communities we serve to develop their passions and aspirations. Football was chosen as it is a popular sport in this region and has broad appeal that transcends all boundaries.”

? อันเดรส ตูเญซ ซัดจุดโทษเป็นประตูโทนให้กับ บุรีรัมย์ ยูไนเต็ด เอาชนะ บองเกต อังกอร์ แชมป์ลีกจากกัมพูชา 1-0 ผงาดคว้าแชมป์รายการนี้ไปครอง และเป็นแชมป์รายการที่ 4 ในปีนี้ของปราสาทสายฟ้า ' Andrés José Túñez Arceo scored a penalty for Buriram United, winning the team the Mekong Club Cup against Boeung Ket Angkor from Cambodia, with the score 1-0, making it the fourth cup of the season of the Thunder Castle. ….. #BuriramUnited #BoeungKetAngkorFC #MekongClub #ToyotaMekongClubChampionship2015 …..

A post shared by BURIRAM UNITED (@buriramunitedofficial) on

The first round of the tournament will take place over two legs on December 9 and 13, pitting the league champions of Vietnam and Cambodia against one another.

The winner of that tie will then face the victors of the Lao Premier League in Laos on December 17.

The two-legged final will then see whichever teams reaches that far come up against Thailand’s League Cup champions home and away on December 23 and January 6.

Similar to 2016, this year’s prize money will see the winners take home US$75,000, while the runners-up, third and fourth-place sides pick up $50,000, $30,000 and $10,000 respectively.

Thank u????

A post shared by Chan Vathanaka (@vathanaka_cv11) on

The tournament’s Most Valuable Player will also pocket a neat $3,000, giving the players extra incentive to follow in the footsteps of Nguyen Anh Duc, Chan Vathanaka and Soukthavy Soundala.