AFC Cup East Zone wrap

Here is a breakdown of Wednesday's East Zone results as we get them.

Group H: Ayeyawady United 4-3 Lao FC

Burmese side Ayeyawady United came from behind twice to beat visiting Vietnamese side Lao FC 4-3 at the Thuwanna YTC Stadium.

The home side opened the scoring in the ninth minute through Colombian Edison Fonseca but then two goals by Phatthana Syvilay and Maitee in the 28th and 42nd minutes respectively took Lao FC into the half-time break leading 2-1.

Riste Naumov got Ayeyawady back on level terms in the 69th minute but five minutes later Japanese striker Kazuo Homma put his side back in front.

Ayeyawady drew level in the 80th minute when Naumov scored his second of the match and then six minutes later Fonseca got his brace to give his side the 4-3 win.

The win puts Ayeyawady top of Group H on nine points while Lao FC are bottom with two points. The group standings could change as both Persib Bandung and New Radiant SC are still to play.


Group H: New Radiant SC 0-1 Persib Bandung

Maldivian football club New Radiant were beaten 1-0 at home by Indonesian side Persib Bandung at Rasmee Dhandu Stadium on Wednesday.

The solitary goal was scored by Muhammad Ridwan in the 14th minute to put his side top of the group standings.

The win puts Persib Bandung top of the table on 11 points followed by Ayeyawady United with nine points. New Radiant are next with four points followed by Lao FC on two points.


Group G: South China 3-0 Global FC
Hong Kong side South China thumped Global FC of the Philippines 3-0 at Mongkok Stadium to dominate the group.

The first goal came in the 39th minute via Cheng Lai Hin and Serbian defender Bojan Malisic made the score 2-1 in the 65th minute before Australian forward Daniel McBreen made the score 3-0 in the 92nd minute.

The result sees South China top of the table on 15 points followed by Pahang FA on four points with Global FC on four and Yadanarbon on three points. NOTE: Pahang and Yadanarbon are still to play their match.


Group G: Pahang FA 7-4 Yadanarbon

A hat-trick by Dickson Nwakaeme set Pahang FA on the way to a 7-4 thumping of Yadarnabon FC to put themselves in pole position to qualify for the next round of the AFC Cup.

Devandran Saarvindran scored a brace, while Matias Conti and Hafiz Kamal netted the remaining goals for the Malaysian side.

Hlaing Bo Bo also netted two goals for the visitors, in between converted efforts from Djedje Maximin Djawa and Win Niang Soe.

The result sees Pahang needing only a point in their final group match away to Global FC to secure their place in the tournament round of 16.