Postecoglou picks experienced squad

The squad has 19 players that were part of the AFC Asian Cup winning team. The Socceroos will be attempting to qualify for a fourth straight World Cup.

One week before the match the Socceroos will get together for a camp in Dubai before flying to Bishkek to take on Kyrgyzstan.

Coach Postecoglou told reporters that he felt excited about the challenges ahead of their attempt to qualify for the 2018 World Cup in Russia.

"This is the start of the next chapter in our journey and we are all excited about what lies ahead over the next two years," Postecoglou said.

"We've been open in our desire to make an impact at the 2018 World Cup but first we need to qualify and that task is immediately in front of us.

"We've selected a relatively settled squad made up of the core of players that brought success at the Asian Cup but also the core of players that will take us through to the next World Cup," he said.

Socceroos squad v Kyrgyzstan:

Goalkeepers: Eugene Galekovic (Adelaide United), Mitchell Langerak (Borussia Dortmund), Mat Ryan (Club Brugge)

Defenders: Aziz Behich (Bursaspor), Jason Davidson (West Brom), Tarek Elrich (Adelaide United), Ivan Franjic (Unattached), Trent Sainsbury (PEC Zwolle), Matthew Spiranovic (Western Sydney Wanderers), Alex Wilkinson (Jeonbuk Motors), Bailey Wright (Preston North End)

Midfielders: Oliver Bozanic (FC Luzern), Chris Ikonomidis (Lazio), Mile Jedinak (Crystal Palace), Massimo Luongo (Swindon Town), Matt McKay (Brisbane Roar), Mark Milligan (Melbourne Victory), Tommy Oar (FC Utrecht)

Forwards: Nathan Burns (Wellington Phoenix), Tim Cahill (Shanghai Greenland Shenhua), Tomi Juric (Unattached), Mathew Leckie (FC Ingolstadt), James Troisi (Zulte Waregem)