Shortlist announced for African award

The short list for the BBC African Footballer of the Year award has been announced, with five nominees in the running for the prize.

The five nominees are Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Andre Ayew, Yacine Brahimi, Sadio Mane and Yaya Toure.

Brahimi, who plays for FC Porto and Algeria, won the award last year while Ivory Coast's Toure is also a previous winner, having earned the title in 2013 after lifting the Premier League trophy with Manchester City.

Ghana international Andre Ayew won the award back in 2011 while playing in Ligue 1 with Marseille, and has been similarly impressive since his switch to the Premier League with Swansea City, scoring five goals in 12 appearances.

Senegalese striker Mane has also stolen plenty of English headlines with his performances for Southampton, while Gabon international Aubameyang has been in fantastic form for BVB Dortmund this season, with 14 goals in 12 Bundesliga appearances.

The winner will be decided by fans, who have until 30 November to vote, with the winner set to be announced on Friday, 11 December.