Who will win Europe’s Golden Shoe?

With domestic seasons across Europe entering their last few weeks, the race for the Golden Shoe award is hotting up.

Mohamed Salah’s four goals for Liverpool against Watford on Saturday saw him race into the lead for Europe’s goalscoring prize.

Salah’s sensational haul against the Hornets means he now has an incredible 28 in just 30 league appearances, and leads last-year’s winner Lionel Messi of Barcelona (25 goals) by three goals, or six points.

Points are handed out according to the strength of the league (2 points for each goal in Europe’s top five leagues and 1.5 points per goal for leagues ranked six to 21)

Should Liverpool’s Egyptian star continue his scoring form he stands a chance of becoming the first player from an English club to win the award since Cristiano Ronaldo scored 31 goals for Manchester United in 2007/08.

Four-time winner Ronaldo currently lies on 22 goals after his four-goal display against Girona on Sunday, level with Mauro Icardi of Inter Milan.

There are three forwards on 48 points – Paris Saint-Germain’s Edinson Cavani, Lazio’s Ciro Immobile and Tottenham’s Harry Kane – each of them having scored 24 times, although Kane looks to be out of the running after picking up an ankle injury that will rule him out for most of the remainder of the season.

Should Messi manage to pull ahead of Salah, he would become the first player to win the European Golden Shoe on five occasions following wins in 2009/10, 2011/12, 2012/13 and 2016/17.

Golden Shoe standings:

1. Mohamed Salah (Liverpool) 28 goals, 56 points
2. Lionel Messi (Barcelona) 25, 50
3. Ciro Immobile (Lazio) 24, 48
4. Edinson Cavani (PSG) 24, 48
5. Harry Kane (Tottenham) 24, 48
6. Jonas (Benfica) 31, 46.5
7. Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich) 23, 46
8. Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) 22,44
9. Mauro Icardi (Inter Milan) 22, 44
10. Sergio Aguero (Manchester City) 21, 42