Germany claim U21 European title

Germany have been crowned European Under-21 Champions for the second time after beating four-time winners Spain in the final.

Mitchell Weiser’s header just before half-time proved to be the only goal of the game, as the Germans reclaimed the title they first won in 2009.

Spain attempted to mount some pressure in the closing stages and went close when Saul Niguez’s effort was saved.

However, Germany looked comfortable and capped off an impressive tournament, which has raised hopes of another crop akin to the class of 2009.

The likes of Manuel Neuer, Mesut Ozil and Jerome Boateng all went on to become regulars for the senior team after that competition, with new Bayern Munich signing Serge Gnabry the stand-out performer in this year's final.

Weiser also produced a top quality finish to flick the ball into the far corner from a tight angle after meeting Jeremy Toljan’s cross.

Spain had come into the final as the favourites, yet under the captaincy of Barcelona-bound Gerard Deulofeu, they created little.

Saul – who netted a hat-trick in the semi-final win over Italy – was forced to feed off scraps as the Spanish were unable to convert their possession into chances.