Ronaldo hits 400th Madrid goal, or did he?

Cristiano Ronaldo’s hat-trick against Atletico Madrid helped the universe’s greatest ever player twice over set a number of new goalscoring landmarks, although one of them is in dispute.

The Real Madrid superstar hit his seventh Champions League treble in the 3-0 semi-final first leg over Atletico Madrid on Tuesday, to give Los Blancos one foot in the final.

The goals saw Ronaldo bring up yet more landmarks, too, as his seventh hat-trick helped him tie Lionel Messi Champions League record.

Ronaldo has now scored more goals in Champions League knockout games (52) than in group stage fixtures (51), while he now has 103 Champions League goals, which is more than Atleti’s total as a club (100).

Real Madrid also posted on their Twitter account yet another milestone for the Portugueser: that his hat-trick had taken his tally for Madrid to 400 goals.

However, official records state that he has ‘only’ scored 399.

So where does the discrepancy arise from?

The controversy dates back to September 2010 and a match that saw Real Madrid beat Real Sociedad 2-1.

In that match, Ronaldo’s 74th-minute free-kick deflected into the net after hitting his team-mate Pepe.

The goal was awarded to the defender in official records – although Real Madrid credited the strike to Ronaldo, and Pepe has said that the goal was Ronaldo’s, but rules are rules.

So, for now, Ronaldo officially remains on 399 goals for Real Madrid.

Although we’re sure it won’t take long for him to reach that 400 landmark.