Arter: Sissoko elbow an accident

Harry Arter has accepted that Moussa Sissoko didn't mean to catch him with an elbow during Bournemouth's 0-0 draw with Tottenham on Saturday.

The Cherries midfielder took a blow from the Tottenham man in the 78th minute as they jostled at a throw in, but referee Craig Pawson didn't appear to see the incident, meaning Sissoko could be retrospectively dealt with.

Replays suggested the Spurs man could have been red-carded, but after the match Arter was quick to play down what had happened.

He told Sky Sports: "Sissoko said to me afterwards that he did catch me but that it was by accident.

"He doesn't seem to be that sort of player, so I'm sure it was by accident and hopefully we can move on from it."

Bournemouth boss Eddie Howe also felt there wasn't intent, based purely on the reputation of the Spurs players.

He said: "I'm not ducking the issue. I didn't see it and I haven't seen a replay yet.

"Judging by Harry's reaction, he was obviously caught but knowing their players, I don't think there would have been any intent.

"I don't think at that stage of the game either team would have wanted a red card."

Comments