Draw date for AFF Suzuki Cup confirmed

Tournament organisers of this year’s AFF Suzuki Cup have confirmed that the draw for Southeast Asia’s biggest football tournament will take place on August 2 in Myanmar’s capital of Yangon.

This year’s tournament is the 20th anniversary of the event, and will be co-hosted in Myanmar and the Philippines from November 19 to 26.

The two hosts, along with defending champions Thailand, fellow four-time winners Singapore, Indonesia, Malaysia and Vietnam will be the seeded entries.

The official draw for the qualifying round of the tournament will also take place on August 2, with qualifying taking place in Phnom Penh, Cambodia, from October 15 – 21.

One of Cambodia, Brunei Darussalam, Laos and Timor-Leste will then join the seeded sides in the main draw of the event.

The tournament was first played in 1996 and is a biennial event which crowns the new kings of ASEAN football.

Some of the main features of the tournament are flag-waving crowds and fanatical support for each of the teams, whether playing at home or abroad.

The Group Stage of the tournament will be staged at the Youth Training Centre in Yangon and the Philippine Sports Stadium.

Additionally, the Wunna Theikdi Stadium in Nay Pyi Taw and the Rizal Memorial Stadium in the heart of Manila – where AFF Suzuki Cup semi-final matches were hosted in 2012 and 2014 – will each host one Group Stage match.

The first legs of the AFF Suzuki Cup semi-finals will take place on December 3/4, with the second legs on December 7/8.

The two-legged final will take place on December 14 and 17.