DFB-Pokal round-up

German giants Bayern Munich and Borussia Dortmund both progressed in the DFB Pokal while Hamburg crashed out as the first-round fixtures continued on Sunday.

The day's action started with last season's beaten finalists Dortmund easing to a 2-0 win away to Chemnitzer, with Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang opening the scoring in the first-half before Henrikh Mkhitaryan made sure of the win eight minutes from time.

Bayern, meanwhile, were in action later in the day as they carved out a 3-1 win over Nottingen. New signing Arturo Vidal opened the scoring from the spot after just five minutes, only to see Niklas Hecht-Zirpel level matters 11 minutes later. However, the Bavarians were not to be undone on the day, with Mario Gotze finding an instant response while Robert Lewandowski added the visitors' third, and what would be the final goal of the afternoon, on 28 minutes.

Elsewhere on the day, there would be no separating Bahlinger SC and SV Sandhausen as 120 minutes at the Kaiserstuhlstadion ended 0-0, despite the visitors having seen Stefan Kulovits sent off shortly after the restart. Penalties would eventually be needed to decide the tie, with Sandhausen emerging victorious 5-3 on spot kicks.

FC Carl Zeiss Jena clinched a surpirse 3-2 extra-time victory over Hamburger SV, with Ivica Olic and Michael Gregoritsch both cancelling out Justin Gerlach and Velimir Jovanovic's goals for the hosts, who eventually had Johannes Pieles' 106th-minute strike to thank for the win.

A Simon Terodde hat-trick spurred VfL Bochum to a 5-0 thrashing at FSV Salmrohr, with Marco Terrazzino firing home a double to cap off a dominant display away from home.

SC Freiburg almost managed to score five without conceding in their win over HSV Barmbek-Uhlenhorst, with Nils Petersen grabbing no fewer than four goals for the visitors before Julian Schuster added a fifth with 19 minutes remaining.

Heidenheim cruised into the next round after seeing off FK Pirmasens 4-1, Ben Halloran and Smail Morabit making it 2-0 at half-time before a second-half brace from Robert Leipertz left them in cruise control and rendered Alexander Schmieden's 82nd-minute goal inconsequential.

Unterhaching had Markus Einsiedler to thank for their 2-1 victory over Ingolstadt, with the striker grabbing a brace either side of half-time to leave Moritz Hartmann's 83rd-minute goal only a consolation for the visitors.

SC Paderborn booked their place in the second round after coming from behind to beat VfB Lubeck 2-1. Stefan Richter had given the hosts the lead just two minutes before the break, but Marvin Bakalorz levelled matters on 54 minutes before Mahir Saglik fired home what proved to be the winner from the penalty spot just five minutes later.

At Stadion Essen, 120 minutes were not enough to separate Rot-Weiss Essen and Fortuna Dusseldorf as the sides finished regulation time still goalless, although the visitors ended with 10 men after Lukas Schmitz saw red seven minutes from time. The lottery of penalties would eventually be needed to decide the outcome, with Dusseldorf emerging victorious 3-1 on spot kicks.

The Ostseestadion encounter between hosts FC Hansa Rostock and FC Kaiserslautern was another that needed to be decided from 12 yards after extra-time finished with the scores still as they started, with the visitors eventually coming out on top of the penalty shoot-out, winning 5-4.

Hannover assured their progression to the next round late on after seeing off KSV Hessen Kassel 2-0, with Salif Sane opening the scoring for the visitors after just 15 minutes before Kenan Karaman made sure of the win in second-half injury-time.

In the final game of the weekend, Mainz cruised into the next round with a convincing 3-0 win over Energie Cottbus at Stadion der Freundschaft. Fabian Frei opened the scoring after 30 minutes before Jairo Samperio doubled their advantage three minutes later, while Christian Clemens added the third shortly after the hour mark to make sure of their passage through.

DFB Pokal Round One results:

Bahlinger SC 0-0 SV Sandhausen (3-5 pen)

Chemnitzer 0-2 Borussia Dortmund

FC Carl Zeiss Jena 3-2 Hamburger SV (AET)

FSV Salmrohr 0-5 VfL Bochum

HSV Barmbek-Uhlenhorst 0-5 SC Freiburg

Nottingen 1-3 Bayern Munich

FK Pirmasens 1-4 Heidenheim

Rot-Weiss Essen 0-0 Fortuna Dusseldorf (1-3 pen)

SpVgg Unterhaching 2-1 Ingolstadt

VfB Lubeck 1-2 SC Paderborn

Hansa Rostock 0-0 FC Kaiserslautern (4-5 pen)

KSV Hessen Kassel 0-2 Hannover

Energie Cottbus 0-3 FSV Mainz