Bengaluru beat Lao Toyota to seal qualification

JSW Bengaluru FC made sure of their place in the knockout stage of the 2016 AFC Cup with a 2-1 win over Lao Toyota on Wednesday.

The Indian side secured second place in Group H behind leaders Johor Darul Ta’zim – winners earlier in the day – while Lao Toyota and Ayeyawady were both effectively eliminated following their defeats.

The game got off to a somewhat sluggish start, although Bengaluru gradually gained the ascendancy as the first half wore on, with Udanta Singh and Sunil Chhetri both troubling opposition goalkeeper Vathana Keodouangdeth, peppering the goal with a couple of well-placed shots.

Still, the visitors appeared to have done enough to go into the break tied at 0-0, only for Bengaluru to snatch the lead in stoppage time when Eugeneson Lyngdoh collected a cross from Michael Collins and headed home from 12 yards out.

Bengaluru looked more confident in the second half, with Chhetri narrowly missing out in the 52nd minute as Vathana somehow spread himself and kept the ball out.

Kazuo Homma was the one danger man for Lao Toyota, however, and he had two decent chances at the other end to equalise, though neither found the back of the net.

Bengaluru found the all-important second goal just after the hour mark, Kim Song-yong receiving a pass from Chhetri before tapping in to make it 2-0.

The game looked dead and buried but just seven minutes later, Lao Toyota were able to pull one back through Homma, who rose highest to convert a well-placed header.

The visitors went in desperate search of an equaliser but any hopes of a late fightback were effectively snuffed out when Saynakkhonevieng Phommapanya was sent off, reducing them to 10 men.