Feyenoord win the KNVB Cup

Feyenoord have been crowned KNVB Cup champions for the 12th time after they beat FC Utrecht 2-1 in the 2016 final at De Kuip on Sunday evening.

The opener arrived shortly before half-time when Michiel Kramer headed Giovanni van Bronckhorst's side in front on 42 minutes, but Ramon Leeuwin found a response for Utrecht six minutes into the second half to set up an intriguing finale.

With just 15 minutes left on the clock, Eljero Elia produced a moment of magic to force an error out of the goalkeeper, who deflected his shot in off the post to give Feyenoord victory, and silverware for the season.

The home team were fired up in front of their own crowd and they created the first real chance of the match on 13 minutes when Mark van der Maarel played in Kramer, but his shot failed to trouble Filip Bednarek in the visiting goal.

But the first half was evenly contested and the visitors went close to breaking the deadlock as half-time approached, with Sebastien Haller sending a header just wide of the mark.

Moments later, though, the opening goal arrived at the other end as Dirk Kuyt clipped a cross to the far post, where Kramer steered his header just out of Bednarek's reach into the left corner of the goal.

However, Erik ten Hag's men were back in the contest early in the second half as Feyenoord failed to clear a free-kick, which dropped to Leeuwin inside the area and his first-time shot went in at the left post, with Kenneth Vermeer watching on helplessly in the goal.

The equaliser gave the visitors confidence as they went in search of the winner, although Feyenoord defended doggedly to keep them out.

Jens Toornstra forced Bednarek to punch his free-kick clear as the second half progressed, but the keeper was beaten again on 75 minutes, this time by Elia following great play from the winger to set himself up.

Elia stormed down the left flank and skinned his marker with a neat cut-back inside the area before hitting a low shot that struck the upright and deflected in off a diving Bednarek.

De Kuip erupted as his winner brought the KNVB Cup back to the club's trophy cabinet for the first time since 2008.