Vidal in the clear over simulation

The German Football Association (DFB) has announced that Arturo Vidal will not face retrospective action for his blatant dive to win a penalty on Tuesday night.

The FC Bayern M√ľnchen midfielder conned the referee into awarding his side a spot-kick in the second half of their 2-0 win over SV Werder Bremen in the DFB-Pokal semi-finals at the Allianz Arena.

The match official apologised after the cup-tie for getting his decision wrong, saying “I saw contact, but there was none”, while Bayern head coach Pep Guardiola admitted the hosts were fortunate to earn the penalty, which was scored by Thomas Muller to complete his brace.

But Vidal will not be charged by the DFB as the governing body’s disciplinary process does not allow for further action to be taken, with a statement adding: “The referee observed the course of events and assessed it.”

The Chile international, though, has been warned against future simulation by Bayern CEO Karl-Heinz Rummenigge.

“The referee’s decision [to give the penalty] sadly was wrong,” Rummenigge said. “Bayern are not necessarily known for producing dives. It’s not what FC Bayern wants.”

Comments