Leicester trio on PFA shortlist

The six-man shortlist for the PFA Players’ Player of the Year award has been announced, and it’s no surprise that Leicester City’s players dominate the list.

The Foxes’ standout performers, Jamie Vardy, Riyad Mahrez and N’golo Kante have been instrumental for Claudio Raniieri’s men as they continue to defy all odds by sustaining a Premier League title challenge.

The trio are joined by Arsenal’s Mesut Ozil, West Ham playmaker Dimitri Payet and last season’s Young Player of the Year, Harry Kane.

Kane is still in contention to retain his trophy but faces stiff competition from his Tottenham Hotspur teammate, Dele Ali – the other nominees for the award are Liverpool’s Philippe Coutinho, Stoke City goalkeeper Jack Butland and Everton pair Romelu Lukaku and Ross Barkley.

The winners in each category will be announced on Sunday, 24 April.

List of nominees:

PFA Players’ Player of the Year

Dimitri Payet (West Ham)
Harry Kane (Tottenham)
Jamie Vardy (Leicester)
Mesut Ozil (Arsenal)
N’Golo Kante (Leicester)
Riyad Mahrez (Leicester)

PFA Young Player of the Year

Dele Alli (Tottenham)
Harry Kane (Tottenham)
Jack Butland (Stoke)
Philippe Coutinho (Liverpool)
Romelu Lukaku (Everton)
Ross Barkley (Everton)