Costa charged with improper conduct

Chelsea striker Diego Costa has been charged with improper conduct following his red card in Saturday’s FA Cup defeat to Everton.

Costa was shown a second yellow card in the 84th minute of Chelsea’s defeat, and it appeared that he may have bitten the neck of Everton midfielder Gareth Barry during a scuffle that followed.

However, both Costa and Barry have denied that a bite took place, and the Football Association appears to agree.

Despite this, the Spaniard still faces a ban for his conduct following his sending off after he launched a volley of abuse at referee Michael Oliver.

“It is alleged his behaviour, after being shown a second yellow card in the game, amounted to improper conduct,” the FA said in a statement.

Costa has until 18h00 GMT on Thursday, March 17 to respond to the charge.

In relation to a second matter, Costa has until Wednesday, March 16 to “provide his observations to The FA in relation to an alleged gesture he made towards Everton supporters while leaving the pitch at half-time.”

Comments