Six of PSG’s record-breaking feats

Paris St-Germain wrapped up the Ligue 1 title in style on Sunday, with the Parisians securing domestic glory in record-breaking fashion.

The title was won courtesy of a 9-0 hammering of Troyes in which Zlatan Ibrahimovic scored four goals.

Fittingly, they shattered records on the day and in their trophy-winning campaign as a whole…

The Parisian’s 9-0 win over Troyes was the biggest away victory in the league’s history. Ibrahimovic’s four-goal haul means that he has notched up more than 100 goals in Ligue 1, 102 goals in 115 matches to be exact. Ibrahimovic is the fastest player to score 100 goals in Ligue 1 since Carlos Bianchi did so all the way back in the 1970s.

By winning the Ligue 1 title with eight matches still to play, PSG have surpassed the previous French record of five matches which was achieved by Lyon when they won the 2006/07 title.

PSG have broken the French record for securing the league title at the earliest stage of the season by more than a month. The Parisians wrapped up the title on March 13, with the previous best April 15.

It’s not just in France where PSG have set new standards though, with their title win eclipsing the previous record in Europe’s ‘Big Five’ leagues of England, France, Germany, Italy and Spain.

Laurent Blanc’s side have surpassed the previous record set by Pep Guardiola’s FC Bayern München’s by 12 days, with Bayern having secured the title in 2013/14 on March 25.

PSG also beat another mark set by the Bayern side of 2013/14.

Guardiola’s men wrapped up the title with seven games to play – no team had previously done so with eight games remaining. However, it’s worth noting that there are 20 teams in Ligue 1 and 18 in the Bundesliga.

They haven’t broken all the records yet…

While the 2015/16 title is PSG’s fourth in a row, they still have some way to go if they’re to break Lyon’s incredible record of seven back-to-back titles. Rather curiously, those seven league titles are the only ones that Lyon have ever won.

Related: PSG claim Ligue 1 title